rate this system configuration - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-15-2004, 05:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19
Default rate this system configuration

Intel LGA775 Pentium 4 550 3.4 GHz, 800MHz FSB, 1MB L2 Cache, Hyper Threading Technology
GIGABYTE "GA-8IPE775-G" i865PE Chipset Motherboard For Intel LGA 775 CPU
Maxtor 300GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive, Model 6B300S0, OEM Drive Only
MGE SuperCharger 600W power supply DUAL 80MM Fans With SATA, Wire sleeve, Model "PS-600W"
PDP Systems Memory Dual Channel 184-Pin 2GB (1GB x 2) DDR PC-3200, Model PDC2G3200ELK
NEC 16X Double Layer DVD±RW Drive, Silver, Model ND-3500A S, OEM
Xoxide UFO Ultimate Aluminum Cube Computer Case (Silver)

I'm money for a computer and I was wondering if this is a good configuration. Also any suggestions for a 256 video card?
__________________

Grey_Pygmy is offline  
Old 09-15-2004, 05:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19
Default

sorry ignore that i meant to say I'm saving money for a computer
__________________

Grey_Pygmy is offline  
Old 09-15-2004, 07:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

thats what the EDIT button is for. My rating for that system is:


Expensive
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-16-2004, 12:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670
Default

well, for that system i would suggest an Nvidia 6800Ultra 256Mb - its the best card at the moment - closely followed by the X800XT PE.

the ram will need to be DDR2.

yes, like Nubius said, Expensive - Very expensive.
__________________
<img src=\"http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c62/HAVOC2k5/Sempron_Userbar.png\">
Raekwon is offline  
Old 09-16-2004, 06:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
suggest an Nvidia 6800Ultra 256Mb
Nah just save your money and get an eVGA 6800GT and overclock it.....should have pretty good ease on getting it up to Ultra speeds.
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-16-2004, 08:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670
Default

you could do that, yes
__________________
<img src=\"http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c62/HAVOC2k5/Sempron_Userbar.png\">
Raekwon is offline  
Old 09-16-2004, 12:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 187
Default

I don't really think you need 300 GB, if you have the money I would suggest raid 74 GB Raptor Drives.
__________________
Thermaltake Shark
OCZ 700W GameXStream
Asus M2N32 SLI
AM2 X2 5600
Corsair XMS 2x1GB
Western Digital Raptor 150 GB
2xBFG 7950GT
AZNRockThis is offline  
Old 09-16-2004, 02:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 155
Default

ho0o0l|ly, dude, by the time you "save" enough money for this beastly machine, it would become useless, something like a AMD 450MHz is now.
And it all really depends on wat the heck yer gonna use it for. I'm gonna be buying a P4 500 series, a 2.8 HTed, do ya know much about them?
but, yeah, my rating would be Expensive as FCK as well, ya know? for a custom build that is. You'd prolly be spending like, wat, 1600?
umybiatch2k6 is offline  
Old 09-16-2004, 04:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19
Default

Do you have any suggestions on a cheap configuration that will run Doom3 at the maximum detail setting?
Grey_Pygmy is offline  
Old 09-16-2004, 05:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

well the maximum setting on doom is ULTRA SETTINGS and any doom3 review you read will clearly tell you that that setting is really made for when the 512mb graphic cards come out....some people don't ever read this and can't figure out why they are getting lag on their '6800 Ultra 256mb what the hell!?!' so just a thought to keep in mind. The people doing the review had a 3.4GHz P4, 2gb of Corsair XMS Ram, and the GeForce 6800 Ultra and that would still experience a tad bit of 'image tearing' on the Ultra settings.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.