Random questions - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2006, 05:25 PM   #11 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by chhorlimsgren
it was an example. hence y i said "random numbers"
DId you figure out the GPU OC'ing?
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 09:29 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 309
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by chhorlimsgren
is there a program that can tell you what your GPU processor and memory run at?
Yes. Try Rivatuner

It is a free download. Enter "rivatuner download" into just about any search engine and then select the site of your choosing.
__________________

__________________
[SIZE=\"1\"]E6400 @ 3.4 , Noctua 120
7900GT @ 670/1680 , VF900
P5B-D 0711
2 x 1GB Patriot 6400 @ 425
WD SATA 250GB
VX2025WM
Neo HE 550
P180 / G15 / MX1000[/SIZE]
Syrillian is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 11:18 PM   #13 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Syrillian
Yes. Try Rivatuner

It is a free download. Enter "rivatuner download" into just about any search engine and then select the site of your choosing.
rivatuner wont tell you memory speeds though, most basic way to check those are in BIOS
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 05:32 AM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

You can use "ATItool" and it can find your max overclock for your GFX card.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 01:17 AM   #15 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

i have heard people talk about when games start to "artifact". but i dunno what that means. can sum 1 tell me?????????????????
__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 02:35 AM   #16 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by j369852147412
i have heard people talk about when games start to "artifact". but i dunno what that means. can sum 1 tell me?????????????????
ya I am not sure all I know is when oc'ing and you start finding artifacts to start coming back down a lil unyil it stops.

I have reched the ceiling for my card with stock cooling.

but dont know about it in games or when it is happening??
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 10:56 AM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 104
Send a message via AIM to thejeremy
Default

Quote:
i have heard people talk about when games start to "artifact". but i dunno what that means. can sum 1 tell me?????????????????

Definition of Artifacts from the web:
"Unwanted visible effects in the picture created by disturbances in the transmission or image processing, such as 'edge crawl' or 'hanging dots' in analog pictures, or 'pixelation' in digital pictures."

For me, when I was OC'ing, I would start up Oblivion and start to see green/red/yellow polygons rapidly flashing in characters' faces and in other part of the world. This was when I quickly exited the game and lowered my clock speeds.
__________________

__________________
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+ Windsor, 2.6 GHz
RAM: CORSAIR XMS2 2GB 240-Pin DDR2
VIDCARD: EVGA PCI-Express x16 GeForce 7900GS 256MB
MOBO: ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe AM2
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7200 RPM SATA

my blog: http://jspot.gotdns.com
thejeremy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.