Random BSODs. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2006, 12:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 111
Send a message via Yahoo to syringe
Default Random BSODs.

I've had the new system for the past few weeks now, but I've been getting BSODs quite recently now. They started out as one offs which I thought would go away and eventually became quite regular (every day and then every hour, right up to sometimes Blue screening right after restart), so I thought it could be because I overclocked the cpu (I overclocked to 2.6GHz after about a week, maybe a bit too quick, although it survived prime 95 for 9 hours before one core gave out), so I downclocked the processor, until eventually I just reset the bios to all default settings.

This hasn't solved the problem either, so after doing a bit of research, I found out it could be the nvidia hardware firewall. So I've now uninstalled that and have read that I should upgrade to the latest nforce4 drivers as well.

I will try that now and update later to say whether or not it's fixed.

Just thought I would share this info with everyone in case anyone else is having similar problems, then it could be the nvidia firewall.

If it doesn't solve the problem, then I'm going to be very stuck!

My New System: Opteron 165
1x250Gb Samsung spinpoint (8MB cache
1x120GB IBM/Hitachi 7200rpm (8MB cache)
1x200GB Western Digital 7200 rpm
1x300GB Maxtor 7200 rpm (16MB cache)
Windows XP Pro SP2

syringe is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 05:53 PM   #2 (permalink)

Baez's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,985

either that or ur running a crazy amount of progs to take up 2gigs! only time i got the bsod was with my first comp a p1 75MHz so cant help u there


Baez is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 06:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
reggie_da_man's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567

If it keeps on giving you BSOD's re-format and re-install windows. Sometime overclocks can screw up windows.

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 04:40 PM   #4 (permalink)

Baez's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,985

ya maybe u should have waited a little longer too. for my athlon i waited a month just to be completely sure. avg time 2 wks

Baez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.