RAM timings - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2005, 12:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default RAM timings

How exactly do I know when I need to loosen timings and how much I need to loosen them? My situation is this. I have an AMD Athlon 64 3000+ and have overclocked the FSB from 200 to 250. I made the number for the RAM 166 so it works on a 5:6 ratio. I want to overclock it farther, because I know I can get at LEAST another 30 out of the FSB. My question is simply: how do I know when I need to loosen or change RAM timings OR voltage supplied to it?
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 02:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default

sorry Wayniac i can't answer your question but i saw i another thread were you asked about locking your BIOS,right? Anyways i didn't respond because it was someone else's thread but all i had to do in bios was switch it auto to manual. On manual it's suppose to be set at 66:33.Hope this helps, it worked for me but then i do have an Intel instead of a AMD....not sure if that matters.
__________________

__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 12:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

http://techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=55216

Just a quick search in TF.
Him is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 03:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

So just to make sure, I lower the timings and when it is unstable I put it back? Sounds good... it just seems weird because I overclocked my CPU from 1.8 GHz to 2.3 GHz and my RAM timings are at 2.5-3-3-7. I don't know... just seems kinda fast to me... I've seen other people overclock and they're at something like 2.5-4-4-10 or so.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 04:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

All RAM timings are different depending on what combination of hardware you have. They have those timings and the same memory you do, but a different mobo and cpu so they will be different. You just have to learn what they alll are and what they do. It's really trial and error after that. Just mess around, see what works and what dosent.

And read that guide several times over. You will catch many new things everytime, and that is the best way to learn it.
Him is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 04:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

See... here is my main question for RAM timings. As you can see, I've overclocked my processor from 1.8 GHz to 2.3 GHz. To get the FSB to raise to 250 from 200, I changed the RAM to 166 for a 5:6 ratio... here is where my question is. CPU-Z has an SPD timings table. It says that when my RAM ratio is set at 200, the timings should be 3-4-4-8. It says that at 166 it should be 2.5-3-3-7 and finally it says that at 133 it should be 2-3-3-6. I was wondering if this applies when overclocking too. My RAM is currently running at something like 410 MHz with timings of 2.5-3-3-7 and a FSB of 250. If, for example, I raised the FSB to 290 and dropped the ratio to 133, would I make the timings 2-3-3-6 like CPU-Z says to, or just keep them higher because it is also overclocked?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 04:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

I honestly couldnt help you too much with timings as of right now, since I havent messed with the hands on. I have only readf about them. What I do know is that you want to strive for a 1:1 ratio. Where the CPU and RAM are running at the same speed. 5:6 will cause a bottleneck, and anything other than a 1:1 ratio will also cause a bottleneck because one is waiting for the other to finish.

Talk to Gaara, he seems to know his timings pretty well.
Him is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 04:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Hey Gaara, any input?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 04:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Wayniac
Hey Gaara, any input?


I dont think he's around yet, havent seen any posts from him today. He's usually on at night (night for me anyway). That will be in about 4 hours or so I would presume.
Him is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 04:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

you know to loosen your RAM timings when it's not stable, simple as that.

Prime95 blend test mod and memtest86+ test your RAM, if you know your RAM is overclocked and it fails in either of those two tests then you will obviously need to loosen timings or give it more voltage
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.