RAM Timing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-19-2006, 07:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mnelson07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 349
Question RAM Timing

Ok, I don't know which timings go to which numbers in my BIOS. I have about 6-8 different timings I can change in my BIOS. Which 4 do I change to be like my RAM? 2-3-3-6 are the time by the way.
__________________

__________________
Case: LIAN LI PC-A70B
Mobo: Gigabyte P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Q6600 g0 @ 3.0GHz
HSF: Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
RAM: 4GB G.SKILL @ 4-4-4-12
VCard: EVGA 8800GTS G92 @ 700/1000
HDDs: 2x 750GB & 250GB
Optical: Sony NEC SATA DVD Burner
PSU: Silverstone 750W Modular
mnelson07 is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 09:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mnelson07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 349
Default

Nevermind, I found a guide on the internet explaining what each time referred to in the BIOS. But, I couldn't find the TRAS timing in the BIOS. Maybe it is in different wording, so here is what I saw that could possibly be the TRAS:

Row Cycle Time: 10T
Row Refresh Cycle: 12T
Read to Write: 4T
Write Recovery Time: 4T

Please help me figure out which one of those is TRAS. Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Case: LIAN LI PC-A70B
Mobo: Gigabyte P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Q6600 g0 @ 3.0GHz
HSF: Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
RAM: 4GB G.SKILL @ 4-4-4-12
VCard: EVGA 8800GTS G92 @ 700/1000
HDDs: 2x 750GB & 250GB
Optical: Sony NEC SATA DVD Burner
PSU: Silverstone 750W Modular
mnelson07 is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 09:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mnelson07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 349
Default

Looks like TRAS would be my "Row Refresh Cycle" according to this URL:
http://www.anandtech.com/memory/showdoc.aspx?i=2223&p=5

"Moving on, we have the tRAS - or more properly tRASmin - which is the minimum time that a row must remain active before a new row within that bank can be activated. In other words, after a row is activated, it cannot be closed and another row in the same bank be opened until a minimum amount of time (tRASmin) has elapsed."

Sounds like refreshing to me.
__________________
Case: LIAN LI PC-A70B
Mobo: Gigabyte P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Q6600 g0 @ 3.0GHz
HSF: Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
RAM: 4GB G.SKILL @ 4-4-4-12
VCard: EVGA 8800GTS G92 @ 700/1000
HDDs: 2x 750GB & 250GB
Optical: Sony NEC SATA DVD Burner
PSU: Silverstone 750W Modular
mnelson07 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.