ram strategy - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-12-2004, 10:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 40
Send a message via AIM to TheScore
Question ram strategy

alright im building my first comp and deciding wat ram to get
i will either

1) get 2 sticks of good 256 ram (because 2 is better than one 512, right?)

2)get one stick of 512 and upgrade too two sticks of 512 later
__________________

TheScore is offline  
Old 03-12-2004, 10:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default

I would imagine that your mobo has 3 slots for RAM, so you could always get 2 sticks of 256 and one stick of 512 for the third slot.
__________________

__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Old 03-12-2004, 11:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

i think he is trying to go with duel channel enabled in the ddr ram. I would go with 512mb stick and upgrade later because you wont be missing the 10% performance boost to much and wehn you get it it still wont do to much.
XT is offline  
Old 03-13-2004, 01:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 80
Send a message via AIM to JimShorts
Default

go with one stick of 512
__________________
KEVIN
JimShorts is offline  
Old 03-13-2004, 02:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to mousepad
Default

I think it's a better idea to go dual. Although, I am a bit curious to know if putting in one stick of 512 would slow the dual down any. Would it?
__________________
me: in fact the san diego\'s pretty much hit the very top on games
friend: yeah
friend: its all the illegal labor


Computer Specs
HP Presario R4025US NoteBook
Athlon 64 AMD3200+ .... 15.4\" WXGA
1GB DDR .... 80GB + 120 GB External
DVD¬ĪR/RW .... ATI RADEON Xpress 200M
mousepad is offline  
Old 03-13-2004, 05:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 325
Default

@ mousepad, with three sticks installed, you still get dual channel performance on the matched pair, but the single stick will be running as a standard DDR.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreeWill
Aquarius 2.... performs as well as urinating in your heatsink
LV38_Eagle is offline  
Old 03-13-2004, 05:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 43
Send a message via AIM to blake67t
Default

With the single 512, later getting another one, this will run faster than if you had the two 256 and then a single 512,

GET THE SINGLE 512 you will regret not in the future.

Blake
__________________
It\'s good to be bad, if it\'s better than bored.

Straight Forward.com GO RIGHT TO THE BEST, no searching.
http://straightforward.bravehost.com/
blake67t is offline  
Old 03-13-2004, 06:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 318
Default

yea in the long run go with a good stick of 512 ram and later stick another 512 one to go at better speed.
__________________
[size=0.5]
  • ANTEC SONATA QUIET CHASSIS ATX 3X5.25 6X3.5 PIANO BLACK 380W TRUEPOWER
  • AMD ATHLON 64 3000+ PROCESSOR S754 2.0GHZ 512KB L2 CACHE RETAIL BOX
  • MSI K8T NEO-FSR ATHLON 64 S754 K8T800 DDR AGP 5PCI SATA RAID 1000LAN SOUND
  • OCZ DUAL CHANNEL OPTIMIZED 2X512MB DDR PC3200 CAS2 W/ COPPER HEAT SPREADER
  • SEAGATE BARRACUDA 7200.7 SERIAL ATA 120GB EIDE 7200RPM 9MS 3.5LP
  • 1.44MB BLACK 3.5IN FLOPPY DRIVE
  • ATI RADEON X800 PRO AGP8X 256MB DDR3 VGA DVI-I TV OUT RETAIL BOX
  • LITEON 52X32X52 ATAPI IDE BLACK CD-REWRITER SMART-BURN OEM W/ SOFTWARE
  • LITEON BLACK 16X DVD-ROM INT E-IDE OEM W/ SW DVD PLAYER
  • [/size]
cell567 is offline  
Old 03-15-2004, 10:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 40
Send a message via AIM to TheScore
Default

alright cool im gonna buy one stick of 512 now and then another one later

now, i need to know compatibility issues like the speed and wat kinda of ram its is (will these factors effect compatibility?)
TheScore is offline  
Old 03-15-2004, 10:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 40
Send a message via AIM to TheScore
Default

Asus A7n8x-x model mobro
__________________

TheScore is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.