Ram Stability question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2007, 09:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default Ram Stability question

i have ddr2 800, i can push it to ddr2 900 no problem. around 975 i get errors when running mem test. which is fine its expected when you oc it that much. so then i drop it down to a 1:1 with my fsb and an 8x multi and my memory is at 700 and its fine. i get my mem up to around 750 and i get memory errors. im confused as to why if its "underclocked" why would i be getting errors if im making it slower?
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 10:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Loosen the timings a bit.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 10:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

they are stock at 5-5-5-13 through all of that, i tried making them 6-6-6-13 and 6-6-6-15 and even 7-7-7-15 but i couldnt post.

also stock voltage is 2.0, ive tried 2.1 but i get the same results.

you have a timing suggestion? its the one in my sig.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 05:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

And you're sure this is a memory error?

Try bumping the memory down to the next slowest speed to confirm that it is the memory.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 05:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Try 2.2 for voltage.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 11:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

ill try the 2.2 shortly, and i know its a memory error cuz ive ran memtest and i get errors reading certian addresses.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.