Ram Questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-25-2006, 06:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default Ram Questions

Ok what is the difference between ram with 16 chips (8 on each side) and ram with 8 chips (all on one side)? Also will there be a performance decrease between ram running at 3-4-4-8 instead of 3-3-3-8?
__________________

Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 09:47 PM   #2 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

dual sided ram just have higher density chips on them. the performance stays the same when the size of memory is the same. double sided is used mostly now. its also better for using ram heat spreaders.

yes there will be a performance difference IF the ram speeds r the same obviously. u wont really get an fps boost in any game tho. maybe a few more points in 3d mark, super pi a bit faster and programs may load .2 of a second faster lol
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 09:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 55
Default

Lo density and high density chips can both be either single or dual sided. And are not compatible...
as far as the performance delta between the ram latency timings, only a benchmark will reveal it. In other words, if a stick will run at higher fsb using looser (higher numerical) timings, the fsb will yield more benefit. Cas2-2-2 stuff is "mostly" braggin' rights imo. SOME motherboards are finicky though, requiring the high octane stuff.
krazefinn is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 10:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Your saying I cant use 1 sided and 2 sided sticks of ram? Well your very wrong, it's done all the time its just some motherboards are picky
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 10:36 PM   #5 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

ok kraze pretty much just said the same thing as me except for the first part. ur completely right pepsi, single and dual can run together. i have a p3 setup doing that right now. as i said before, its just the chips density that differs. nothing else.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 11:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

So different amount of chips on the ram doesnt affect me at all?
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 11:23 PM   #7 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

no. if its running fine then ur good. it doesnt determine how good the ram is
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 12:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 55
Default

No, what I meant was lo and hi density do not play well together...nor does a board requiring lo density (usually the older ) will not work at all with hi density. Both lo and high density come dual sided, and single sided. Single or double sided has little relevance to density, ALTHOUGH double sided is somewhat more likely to be lo density.

No mention in my post re: single or dual sided NOT working together, provided the densities are correct. I have pair of single sided 256 mb HyperX with dual sided 512 in dualchannel right now. All 3 are lo density. Lo density chips are often considerably more expensive than hi density stuff.

And if one stick is spec'd at cas 3, the other at faster cas2, both will default to cas3. You can try manuially overiding that in bios with appropriate choices(usually avoid spd or auto, choosing "user defined instead), and it works sometimes, esp w high erformance quality ram, although the difference will not be perceivable except by benchmark, and even then only marginal. But you know us clockers, we'll go for every fraction improvemet!
krazefinn is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 12:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Sorry about that krazefinn and yeah I know what you mean with overclocking, the only thing right now thats good at overclocking is the video card. Otherwise, this thing just wasnt setup for it.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 05:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 55
Default

NP pepsiboy, just illustrates the matching of ram takes more into account than just single/double sided.
__________________

krazefinn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.