ram questions.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-21-2006, 11:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default ram questions..

http://techist.com/showthread.php?s=...5&pagenumber=1

my thread is already started there in the buying/building/upgrading from high performance PCs but the thread kinda turned into an overclocking one... and nobody responded overnight so i decided to give it more publicity.
__________________

__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 12:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

soooooo, whats your question, i got bored reading thro the other thread?
__________________

harry18 is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 02:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

this was the latest question:
Quote:
hmm okay i just tried something and it didnt work. i put the CPU multi on 14.5 and the dram frequency on 01/02 and the fsb on 205 so i can overclock my CPU without touching the rams maximum frequency. this should've put the CPU at 2972MHz and then ram at 102/3. i know the cpu is capable of 2.97ghz and, as i just tested, the ram is capable of 203 mhz. why did it not work?
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 02:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

okay, i just tried it again because im a dumbass like that but i dont see ANY reson why this shouldn't work! im setting the RAM way down because it sucks, im not trying to overclock that. i set the fsb to 200 and the ram to 100MHz (01:02). i put the CPU multiplier on 14.5 which =2900GHz and now the system is not even POSTing. arg! the voltage is fairly high, i can usually push 3000mhz on this voltage stably.
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 03:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

at any rate, i need better ram. i was really looking at this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...P=OTC-d3alt1me
good choice?
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 05:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

i have two sticks of those and it wont run any faster than 222mhz
The General is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 08:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

Try gettin a stick of DDR500, that'll help with OCin

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231024

Timings arent that great but it'll OC good

or http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231056

$20 more for better timings.
__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 08:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

my mobo only support 3200? or will it do pc4000 as well? the guy @ frys said only 3200 will work in my mobo but i dont think he knew what he was talking about.
__________________

__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.