RAM question - overclocking. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2007, 05:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
manowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 191
Default RAM question - overclocking.

Hi guys,

I've successfully oc'ed my E6600 to 3.1Ghz (1400Mhz) without much strain. I'm getting roughly 40-43c idle and 57-58c load.

Anyway, I'm familiar with CPU overclocking, but as for RAM overclocking, I'm a little baffled.

My current RAM is 4 sticks of 1Gb OCZ PC2-8500 (1066Mhz) Reaper = 4Gb..

Now, when I've been into the BIOS, the settings show this, for RAM:

Memory Clock Mode: Unlinked
Mem DDR, MHZ: 1067
Memory Timing Setting: Optimal
5 5 5 15 2T
Memory voltage: 2.3v

So my RAM's running unlinked to my CPU at 5-5-5-15 timings, I take it.

However, I need to know if these settings coincide with my current CPU settings (3.1Ghz) - are my current RAM settings creating any sort of bottleneck? Should I lower/increase them slightly?

If I set the Memory Timing Setting to "Expert" I can edit the timing values, is it worth doing so?

Cheers all.
__________________

__________________
"Heart, faith & steel".
manowar is offline  
Old 12-30-2007, 05:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: RAM question - overclocking.

Well 1066mhz is already quite fast....I don't think you will be able to get much more out of them.

You could try tightening the timings a bit...Try setting them to 4,4,4,12...then run memtest86...there's a good chance it will run at 4,4,4,12 since you are running 2.3v
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-30-2007, 10:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
manowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 191
Default Re: RAM question - overclocking.

hi gurusan,

Right, I've read up a little on RAM timings and its relationship with OC'ing, so here's my current situation.

I've overclocked my E6600 now to 3.6Ghz, so thats 1600Mhz, (400mhz x 4). With a multiplier of 9x.

Therefore, I "synched" my RAM with the new CPU FSB speed, so now my 1066Mhz RAM is doing 800Mhz so it coincides with the 1600Mhz (800 x 2 = 1600Mhz)

The timings are now 4-4-4-12.

No crashes so far, so far, so good. However..

I'm baffled with voltages. What should I set the voltages for the CPU and RAM too? Currently, everythings on "Auto". I've tried changed the CPU Voltage and FSB Voltages in the BIOS, but for some reason, when I change them manually, Windows fails to login (gets to the login screen, then after password has been typed in, it hangs).

The only way I can login is if I set my Voltages to "Auto". When I finally get logged in, the temps in Coretemp equal about 46-49c at idle.

Is there something wrong with my OC?

A recap:

CPU 1600Mhz FSB (400 x 4) x9 = 3.6Ghz
RAM 800mhz 4-4-4-12

Does it have something to do with the multiplier? Should I set that to 8, or lower?

Thanks.
__________________
"Heart, faith & steel".
manowar is offline  
Old 12-30-2007, 10:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: RAM question - overclocking.

I think you are confused...there's no way your ram is running at 1600mhz effective

I'd be very impressed if you got your ram to 600mhz (1200 effective)
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-30-2007, 11:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
manowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 191
Default Re: RAM question - overclocking.

No, I mean its running at 800mhz in order to get a Ratio of 1:1. My CPU FSB is running at 1600Mhz, so in order to coincide with that, my RAM clocks down to 800Mhz to run at 4-4-4-12, I think.

From what I understand, My OCZ 1066Mhz RAM is currently running at 800mhz, so 400Mhz x 2 (Because its DDR) = 800....
__________________
"Heart, faith & steel".
manowar is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 02:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: RAM question - overclocking.

yeah but you are wasting the power of your ram. lol ram power!
your cpu does not need to run in a 1:1 ratio with your bus speed. in the old days, yes...but not now, and i can assure you that you will see better performance running it asynchronously (sp?), or "unlinked" at its higher rated speed. CERTAINLY if you can retain the 4-4-4-12 timings.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
Overclocking question Higach Overclocking and Modding 14 01-01-2008 05:28 AM
RAM testing question jfenwick System Upgrades 12 10-20-2007 04:52 PM
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 12:59 AM
Ram overclocking question Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 4 09-08-2007 11:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.