RAM overvolting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2009, 12:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Question RAM overvolting

Hey guys

I get the feeling that my ram doesnt have enough juice atm, since games like supreme commander keep crashing on me, but video encodes and prime95 run fine (altho a tad warm). currently my ram is at 1.8V @ 900Mhz 5-5-5-15, im using all 4 memory banks, 2 are crucial ballistix and 2 are GeIL. the GeIL dont have heatspreaders hence the reason i am running at 1.8V currently. would there be any danger in taking the ram to say 1.85 or 1.9 bearing in mind all 4 memory banks are filled and the GeIL lack heatspreaders even though the crucials dont? i dont want to downclock or release latencies unlesss i really have to....

please advise
Da Viksta
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 05:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default Re: RAM overvolting

If prime95 doesn't crash your system, than it's not likely that supreme commander would if your ram was the problem. Try running memtest though, and also check the temperature on your video card, but the problem to me sounds like its software related.
__________________

__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 06:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: RAM overvolting

well my bios decided itll have some fun at my expense when i was tinkering and mess itself up so i did a full CMOS reset and am at stock speed now entirely, and supreme commander still crashes after 5 mins of play. even though crysis wars 64-bit didnt after an hour.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 06:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 155
Default Re: RAM overvolting

So it must be a software issue. Re-install Supreme Commander.
Xandubomb is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 06:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default Re: RAM overvolting

Reinstall and update your video drivers as well as every other driver on your system. Also, try running your game in compatability mode, cause I doubt Supreme Commander actually likes the fact that you are running server 2008.
__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 05:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: RAM overvolting

right i tried it all and installed forged alliance as well and it has subsided...i think it was just a bad install...

the question remaining is whether or not its safe for an extra 0.1V in my ram (im not worried about the crucial, ive had them at 2.2V before, im worried about my headspreader deficient GeIL ram)
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 05:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: RAM overvolting

Well mixing memory types is not recommended, I would not be surprised if you get some random instability problems...
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 12:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: RAM overvolting

If I remember right, the crucial sticks are supposed to be 2.1 or 2.2 for the Ballistixs... Then again, if its the regular ones I am unsure.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 05:05 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: RAM overvolting

gurusan, i havent had a problem as of yet with my memory in any way i just want to overclock it slightly. and charles, my crucial have 2.2 programmed in their SPD so it wont void my warranty, just the GeIL have 1.8V programmed into the SPD...
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 05:09 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: RAM overvolting

Overclocking is where the problems are, but you may be lucky. The black dragons you can overvolt more than 1.8V....try 2.0V
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motherboard ram support (need help) UpLiNk System Upgrades 4 01-26-2009 08:03 AM
32-bit WinXP question, regarding RAM White_Wolf Microsoft Windows and Software 1 12-21-2008 03:19 PM
Monitor went dark Noelectro Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 20 09-08-2008 06:54 PM
Problem with RAM / CPU. zukster Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 08-11-2008 09:43 PM
Need help with ram identification s37d System Upgrades 5 02-08-2008 02:22 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.