RAM Overclocking Problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-31-2006, 10:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10
Angry RAM Overclocking Problems

I have recently upgraded my RAM from Corsair XMS DDR400 to Ballistix DDR500. I am running on an Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe mobo and had no troubles overclocking with my Corsiar RAM(other then some stablility issues). But now that i have the Ballistix RAM if i try to raise the frequency of my cpu then Windows wont boot, it just gets stuck on the loading screen. It doesn't matter what cpu settings i change, windows wont boot.
Does anyone know the issue? Is it my RAM or maybe my motherboard?
Ill take any suggestions at this point, I'm stumped
__________________

Naatae is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 10:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Can I get Full specs?
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 11:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Certainly:

Motherboard: ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe Link
RAM: Crucial Technology 2GB DDR 500 Link
Old RAM: CORSAIR XMS 2GB DDR 400 Link
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Link

Need anything else?
Naatae is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 11:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Hmm


Do you still have the old ram? If so use that then download Memtest98 and boot off it with your new memory.

Link to memtest86 Hey that tickles!

If you dont have spare memory and your motherboard dosent have Memtest89 on it, Then see if you have any others you could try.


If you can get memtest running go thru tests 5 + 8 and let it go all night and if it passes we will look elsehwere and if it fails your memory is bad.


Also, if you need any tips or aren't sure what to do, ask away.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 11:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Alright sounds like a plan
I'll run Memtest98 tonight and post the results tomorrow
Wish me luck!
Naatae is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 02:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: AUSTRALIA
Posts: 87
Default

isn't the old ram better anyway ? it is more expensive in those links...

+ it has lower latencies which makes it better ? i thought atleast.
the 100mhz speed wouldnt compensate for the latencies if correct.

i'm probably wrong though
__________________
http://img262.imageshack.us/img262/9...gfinal2ld2.jpg
__________________
CPU: Intel Q6600 Quad @ 2.4 Ghz per core
Motherboard: ASUS P5B-Deluxe wifi
Hardrives: IDE MAXTOR 80 Gb (Windows)
2x SATA MAXTOR 320 Gbs in raid
Video Card: Nvidia 8800GTS (revised 512mb)
RAM: 6 Gb 667 kingston dual channel
Monitor: ASUS VW192T
Mouse: Microsoft Habu
Power Supply: Topower 1000W
OS: Windows XP x64 edition (to support all ma ram :D)
pat2k5 is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 03:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

the Ballistix DDR500 is better. frequency matters more unless the timings are horrible. of course if it's possible to get DDR500 at say 2-2-2-5 and you compare it to DDR500 at 2-3-3-6 the 2-2-2-5 will get more bandwidth. i recall in a bandwidth test i scored something like 60mb/s higher than someone else when we were both running the memory at DDR500 on similar rigs. the main difference was that i had mine at 2-2-2-5 but someone at only DDR507 completely eclipsed my bandwidth score.

it's probably either bad memory or settings problems, perhaps the latencies or voltage settings are being retained?
Nitestick is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 03:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Alright so i ran Memtest for 8 hours last night on my Ballistix RAM and it didn't come up with any errors
So any other suggestions?
Naatae is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 04:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Bump
Naatae is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 04:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

Could be a voltage problem.
__________________

brinks is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.