RAM? Low Latency or speed, which is more important? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-31-2005, 03:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 9
Default RAM? Low Latency or speed, which is more important?

I am building a gaming rig and want to put 2 gig of ram in it. I'm just confused as to what type of ram I should use. Crucial has Ballistix DDR 3200 with 2-2-2-6 Latancy that come in 512MB sticks or they have Ballistix Tracer DDR 4000 with 3-4-4-8 Latency in 1 gig sticks. So my question is what difference does speed (DDR3200 v. DDR4000), Number of sticks (2 v. 4), Latency, and Voltage make? Which is the most important for gaming?
__________________

skildner is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 03:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

You want the fastest speed with the tightest timings. PC4000 would be like....250MHz or DDR500 while PC3200 is 200MHz or DDR400....thing is though if you have your latencies too loose then it will negate the high speed. But 250MHz with 3-4-4-8 will still outperform that 2-2-2-6 PC3200.

you should like into G.Skill they can hit much higher than 250MHz with way better timings than 3-4-4-8

Number of sticks doesn't do anything regarding performance, although generally 1gb of RAM will be all you need for gaming really.

You need more voltage to hit higher speeds with tighter latencies too
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 05:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670
Default

ditto ^^

but also it depends on what system you have, an A64 system benefits far more from low latencies than an AXP or P4.
__________________
<img src=\"http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c62/HAVOC2k5/Sempron_Userbar.png\">
Raekwon is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 05:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah but leaving an AMD64 system at PC3200 is pointless. Those things can go well beyond 250HTT with good RAM. Theres where the bandwidth REALLY kicks in
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 10:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Thank a lot. I was ready to buy the lower timings memory, but now I'll go for the faster memory. I'm building a system with:
ASUS SLI Deluxe
Athlon 64 3500+ (90nm)
Dual eVGA 6800 Ultras
Turbo-cool 510 SLI PSU
What memory would you recommend for this system?
skildner is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 10:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

G. Skill ram built on TCCD's
Also, ditch the buggy Asus board and get a DFI or MSI
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 02:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 9
Default

The main reason for going with the ASUS is because it has both PCI-X slots at 8X. Do the DFI or MSI mobos have the same? What do the DFI and MSI offer that is better than the ASUS? I also heard that the DFI is the only mobo that allows you to change the voltage for the memory. Is that true? Because I read that you can overclock the heck out of G. Skill memory
skildner is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 02:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by skildner
The main reason for going with the ASUS is because it has both PCI-X slots at 8X. Do the DFI or MSI mobos have the same? What do the DFI and MSI offer that is better than the ASUS? I also heard that the DFI is the only mobo that allows you to change the voltage for the memory. Is that true? Because I read that you can overclock the heck out of G. Skill memory
all mobos that support SLI have both slots operating at x8/x8

and yes, g skill's are good for OCing
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 04:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
I also heard that the DFI is the only mobo that allows you to change the voltage for the memory.
No DFI is not the only motherboard to allow you to change memory voltage. They probably allow some of the highest adjustments, but just about every K8 board allows you to bump up the voltage to some degree.

You should get some of those G.Skill LA's, technically they are low latency high performance RAM, but that means it's quality parts and will OC like mad. You should be able to get upwards of 275MHz+ if you just go at it the right way and read up on OC'ing basics if you don't already know
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 08:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

i would say get the DFI-Ultra (non SLI) cos 2X6800Ultra is way tooo much money and getting one now and then a next gen card will be way better than getting 2X6800Ultra now. and that mobo OC's awsom
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.