RAM isn't running at correct speeds - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2006, 01:15 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

If you have a Venice or San Diego or other RevE core you should be able to run the memory at 200MHz at a 2T command rate, however if you have a winchester or newcastle or other pre-RevE core the memory controller can't handle all four DIMMs running at 200MHz and will run them at 166MHz

Quote:
He could do that, yes, but in some cases, to get it stable at 200, he would have to run it with a 2T command rate, which severely cripples performance.
Not really, no. Once again yes it's fairly obvious that yes 1T will yield more memory bandwidth than a 2T command rate, but if you were to set up identical systems with one running 1T and one running 2T command rates you wouldn't notice a difference unless you are specifically benching in programs like Sandra or SuperPI so no, there isn't a severe cripple in performance as many like to call it. If you weren't benchmarking, you couldn't distiguish the difference unless of course you were overclocking at which point as I've already said many times RAM is picky with latency and stability therefore the 2T would probably go further
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 03:04 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Ok, so how would I go about doing this?
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 10:19 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

There is no "go about doing this", you either have the right memory controller or you don't, only way to change the memory controller is to buy another processor with the right memory controller...sorry
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 11:25 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

No no, I mean change it to 2T or whatever.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 05:20 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

look for "Command per clock" in your BIOS, it should be under some RAM options. You want to DISABLE that and that will make the RAM 2T timing. Having it enabled is 1T
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 01:54 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

I found it. My BIOS is different, it was called DRAM Command Rate or something like that, and had Auto, 1T, and 2T.

At stock clocks, command rate to auto, I got like 43.375 seconds in Super PI, at stock clocks and 2T, I got 43.5...I can live with that.


EDIT: Thanks for the help guys.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.