ram cooler.. - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2004, 05:02 PM   #21 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

oh yeah those be the ones Ag3 to save the day! Thanks ag as always!
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 12-14-2004, 05:39 PM   #22 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Never a problem!
__________________

ag3 is offline  
Old 12-14-2004, 05:59 PM   #23 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default

does newegg sell those? btw where ya been ag?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 01:26 PM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

At this time RAM cooling is pointless, Once FSB climbs over 2GHz then we will have to worry about it.
__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 02:32 PM   #25 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default

hey i found a pci fan card on frozencpu and was wondering if it would be worth it
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 03:39 PM   #26 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

not really. It's REAL easy to make your own PCI Fan card though if you have a spare PCI Card or something that could just be busted laying around.

I forget exactly where I read it, but it's not like you need instructions to do it. I just took a fan from an AMD64 stock heatsink, drilled holes through some PC board that just had a couple extra USB's that are to fit in the back of the computer and screwed the fan on with that.

You can see the fan below my graphics card in this:



I haven't been able to OC the graphics care more than normal. And no temp monitoring so I really don't know if it's even making a difference. I suppose it'll cool your graphics card down a little but I wouldn't expect much
Nubius is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 04:21 PM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Jesus Christ, no wonder you bought a 560watt PSU!
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 06:03 PM   #28 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Joeisalsocool
At this time RAM cooling is pointless, Once FSB climbs over 2GHz then we will have to worry about it.
pointless? ever felt DDR RAM at say 3.4+v...that stuff gets HOT!!! REAL cooling will do just fine...but the thermal pads and junk manufactures use is pretty bad. just get an 80mm on there and it shold be below hot to warm lol.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 06:04 PM   #29 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Jesus Christ, no wonder you bought a 560watt PSU!
Yeah and now that picture isn't even up-to-date, it's only a couple weeks old, but I now have 4 HD's instead of just 2 that you see there got 2 on SATA port 1 and 2, then the other two on IDE-1

Plus with all those fans I wanted to make aboslutely sure I wouldn't have a power problem
Nubius is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 06:05 PM   #30 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default

wow thats awesome. well im not gonna screw any holes into any pci card. wow your case is kinda messy lol!
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.