ram cooler.. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-12-2004, 08:26 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

hmmm, my dog weighs a solid 85 pounds, and he looks pretty fiercesome, while i do remember you from your picture, which didn't exactly strike fear into my heart "tom cruise look-alike" is one statement i remember
__________________

__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 08:29 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

sorry, didn't read the whole thread, but here's my two cents...

The active cooler is what you're really supposed to get, as there's a lot of controversy if the panels by themselves even work. The ones from thermaltake with the fan is what you should be looking at. It's kinda like sticking a metal panel (hdd cooler) on a hard drive without a fan.. you really think it's going to help disperse the heat?

*edit*
Yea i have the tt active ram coolers and i dunno if it's helping me to overclock, but i'm using corsair ram (3-4-4-9) i think are it's stock timings, it's running at 2-3-3-3 currently
__________________

Demalii is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 08:37 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

If memory coolers actually do work, and I think these do, these would be the ones that would work the very best- http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...2792&CatId=496 ....

That would be what I would get, if I didn't already have platinum heat spreaders.

Well I guess they only work on pc2100/1pc100/pc133. That is strange really.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 11:51 PM   #14 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default

the thermaltake volcano active coolers have to be workin over time for those timigs!!!! demalii thats really cool but i havent seen corsair w/ those stock timings.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-13-2004, 03:46 AM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

if you ask me, its a waste of money. Ram doesnt emit much heat, and if you have decent cooling, the small amount of heat with be easily dealt with
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 12-13-2004, 08:17 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Leonidas
i wonder if they sell watercooling RAM attachments...
http://www.xoxide.com/angeleye-techn...ler-black.html

they are pointless really, just for show.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 12-13-2004, 07:19 PM   #17 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default

hey but if you dont plan on ocing your ram then active coolers for them is pintless to right? and if everybody thinks that the plates are pointless then why have them? to look cool!!!
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-13-2004, 07:31 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
hey but if you dont plan on ocing your ram then active coolers for them is pintless to right? and if everybody thinks that the plates are pointless then why have them? to look cool!!!

don;t give you any OC'ing boost either way as i have noticed. some people say it gave them an extra 3MHz or sumthin...i figure they could have gotten that much more without them too. they just hadn't tried yet. they look kewl reither way
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 12-13-2004, 07:36 PM   #19 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default

yup yup!
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-14-2004, 09:30 AM   #20 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

"Well the RAMsinks are different from heatspreaders. They are just the little metal heatsinks that go on each individual RAM chip.... I personally don't know what the best are out right now, but I know Ag3 does..."

The best RAMsinks are manufactured by TweakMonster.
__________________

ag3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.