RAID help, checking hard disk space - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2006, 04:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 781
Exclamation RAID help, checking hard disk space

okay so i just scored two wd 36 raptors. now i want to do a raid setup. my question is, raid 1 or raid 0. all im looking for is pure speed. i also want to check how much space i am currently taking on my 160 gig IDE hard drive to see if 74 gigs is enough. help?
__________________

__________________
Intel Q6600 w/ CM Geminii
MSI P6N Deluxe SLI
BFG 8800GT w/ 22'' Acer LCD
OCZ 2x2GB
WD 400GB SATA
Razer Barracuda AC-1, Razer eXactmat
Logitech G15, MX Revolution, X-230
Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1 case w/ Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan controller
R1C0CH3T is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 04:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

Raid 1 only does a mirror, so its only good for backups.

Raid 0 would be where it splits the data across the 2 hard drives so they act as one.

so it depends on what you want to do, back up or space.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 07:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 781
Default

okay so ill do raid 0. where can i find on my computer how much space i am currently using?
__________________
Intel Q6600 w/ CM Geminii
MSI P6N Deluxe SLI
BFG 8800GT w/ 22'' Acer LCD
OCZ 2x2GB
WD 400GB SATA
Razer Barracuda AC-1, Razer eXactmat
Logitech G15, MX Revolution, X-230
Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1 case w/ Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan controller
R1C0CH3T is offline  
Old 08-12-2006, 03:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

RAID 0 will give you perfomance and space.....

And you don't know how to check hard drive space?! Just go to my computer and click on your hard drive...it should show used/free space in the left window panel...or just right click and go to properties.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-12-2006, 09:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 781
Default

ya i googled it, thanks. im only using 13 gigs. wow. 74 is overkill for me i guess. how much of a performance increase could raid 0 do for me? just like load time and stuff, bf2 load times?
__________________
Intel Q6600 w/ CM Geminii
MSI P6N Deluxe SLI
BFG 8800GT w/ 22'' Acer LCD
OCZ 2x2GB
WD 400GB SATA
Razer Barracuda AC-1, Razer eXactmat
Logitech G15, MX Revolution, X-230
Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1 case w/ Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan controller
R1C0CH3T is offline  
Old 08-12-2006, 09:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

I'll just say it's a significant difference. Makes me very happy....and your WD hard drives are faster than mine.

BTW it depends what you do...I have 640gb total and it fills up for me.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-12-2006, 09:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 781
Default

all i do pretty much is online, bf2, c&c generals. oh and overclocking.
__________________
Intel Q6600 w/ CM Geminii
MSI P6N Deluxe SLI
BFG 8800GT w/ 22'' Acer LCD
OCZ 2x2GB
WD 400GB SATA
Razer Barracuda AC-1, Razer eXactmat
Logitech G15, MX Revolution, X-230
Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1 case w/ Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan controller
R1C0CH3T is offline  
Old 08-12-2006, 10:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

oh I see...I watch shows/movies so space fills up fast. I love collecting good shows too. Every season of Battlestar Galactica is a keeper
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-12-2006, 10:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 781
Default

yup i would download shows, but at the rate im going im reformatting every month. next week ill be getting my raptors in the mail, and whaddaya know!!! another reformat and another hour of reinstalling everything
__________________

__________________
Intel Q6600 w/ CM Geminii
MSI P6N Deluxe SLI
BFG 8800GT w/ 22'' Acer LCD
OCZ 2x2GB
WD 400GB SATA
Razer Barracuda AC-1, Razer eXactmat
Logitech G15, MX Revolution, X-230
Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1 case w/ Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan controller
R1C0CH3T is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.