RAID Controller vs BIOS RAID - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2010, 11:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default RAID Controller vs BIOS RAID

I've asked this before (a WHILE AGO!) went to bump it back up and it said it was closed.. I never got an answer and I'm still curious..


RAID has proven to be a pain to setup and god knows why Windows (Pre-WIN7) is still stuck on the Floppy drives. Most of the time I go to setup a RAID config, windows doesn't see the drivers on the floppy. Would it be easier to use a PCI RAID Controller card? -And yes, I've seen the controller cards are quite expensive.

Or am I just missing something??
__________________

__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 01-10-2010, 11:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: RAID Controller vs BIOS RAID

Problem that i have with some motherboard RAID is i f some thing else go wrong with the motherboard, re-install windows again unless you can find the exact same RAID chipset on the new motherboard.
At least with a RAID card, you can migrate them.

The other thing that I don't like abour onboard RAID is monitoring software. All the ones i have seen has been BIOS or Firmware based. Unlike the adaptec software which will monitor and report as you are using your PC. Like my Adaptec 1220SE will rebuild or verify my RAID while still allowing me to access it.

As for the RAID cards being expesive, what are you trying to do with it?
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 01-11-2010, 01:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,668
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: RAID Controller vs BIOS RAID

I find onboard RAIDs quite satisfactory for your everyday useage. So long as you go with a good mobo manufacturer with good driver support you shouldn't have a problem. USB floppy drives cost **** all these days so that part isn't a problem either.

In fact, out of the two options, I'd go with the onboard RAID about 9 times outta 10, even at work. The only time I'd get a card would be if the mobo was especially crappy or if I needed a particular kind of RAID that it didn't offer.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 01-11-2010, 02:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 30
Default Re: RAID Controller vs BIOS RAID

On-board Raid is great if you are planning on going with a Raid-0 or 1 setup. If you choose to do something like Raid-5 you will find that it is less effective than going with a standalone Raid card.
TheKaras is offline  
Old 01-11-2010, 09:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: RAID Controller vs BIOS RAID

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keyboard Cowboy View Post

As for the RAID cards being expesive, what are you trying to do with it?
I don't know how to pick a RAID card, other than the number of available ports. But I was just looking for an effective RAID 0 capable card. Like I said, every time I have attempted to install the RAID drivers from a parallel floppy, none of the drivers show up when I am in the setup/install screen fro Vista. -I gotta get Win7.
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with setting up a RAID array TerraformScott New Systems | Building and Buying 2 11-04-2008 04:45 PM
Game controller is not staying active ? -RockMan- Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 10-12-2008 01:06 PM
Bios for my motherboard Quake_City Microsoft Windows and Software 13 03-29-2008 09:47 AM
IDE RAID and SATA RAID togather abadjay Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-02-2007 02:37 PM
Where to go next? (upgrading advice) ril New Systems | Building and Buying 9 07-12-2007 04:16 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.