Radeon X1000 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-17-2005, 02:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 17
Talking Radeon X1000

Guy bought this video card last week. See this, the connecting part on the video card does not stick in the mother board. Guy said the man running things said that he should of bought a bigger power box. See this, the power box is the same watt as the one the guy has already. The man running things said that watt doesnt matter, guy needed more rails on the power box. See this, guy buys the power box and the video card still doesnt work. Do you know that this man should do? Does this man need a bigger power box? Much respect.

Majik is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 03:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
RockyZ's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ

lol, powerbox.....

Ok which part of your computer does not connect correctly?

Is your card PCI-E or AGP? If you board is AGP and you bought a PCI-E card, its not gonna fit.

If you mean the connector to your video card itself for power, then that should come from your Power Supply (powerbox). If you don't have a powersupply that has plugs for video cards (probably the 4-pin molex plugs or the newer ones).

If you don't already have a good powersupply then you should buy a GOOD one, like an Antec Tru power, or some other high wattage PSU with good ratings.


G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 04:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 17

Checked out this mans package for the power box. It says "Antec TrueControl II 550". Guy the wire from the video card is plugged into the power box. See this, the video card has a pci-e plug and the mother board has a pci-e plug, so I don't see the beef. Guy running things turned on this man's computer, and everything was good until this guy noticed that the video card wasn't plugged into the computer. See this, guy running things said the problem is that this man's power box doesn't have enough rails. But here's the low down... Guy can't find a power box with more rails than the one he has now.
Majik is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 04:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
aspire's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308

ok someone seriously needs to speak in english

and somewhere in this story there is some seriously bad crack

whoever is telling the guy he needs more rails doesnt know **** about computer, Im running a 60 dollar psu with a 7800gt and it runs fine and i only have 20amps on the 12volt rail
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.


The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 04:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 17

Guy I don't understand what you are saying in the first 2 lines. See this, man running things owns the store. Same cat who is bulding this guy's computer. Guy said the reason the video card won't plug in is because the power box doesn't have enough rails. By the way, what is rails exactly. And why does this man need to keep buying them just to plug the card. This man doesn't understand this. Respect to comptech for looking out.
Majik is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 05:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700

Could U please speak some normal ENGLISH so we could understand this better. What card is it and what do you mean by it doesnt work?
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 06:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 17

Guy I'm trying as hard as I can. English isn't my first language. See this, is my english really that hard to understand. Guy the video card is "ATI Radeon X1800 XT PCI-E 256 MB 256-bit". See this, the problem is that the guy running things can't plug the video card into the pci-e plug on the motherboard. This man said the reason is because the power box doesn't have enough rails. Guy has the best power box on the market. This is why this man doesn't understand why he needs to buy more rails for this man's power box. See this, I am trying to speak english as clear as I can.
Majik is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 08:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
reggie_da_man's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567

What is your first language? If It's French I can help you out (I doubt it's french though lol) anyway, do you mean the video card doesn't physically fit in the motherboard or when you boot the computer doesn't show anything on the monitor.

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 10:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475

That "PowerBox" is powerful enouph. It has 38 amps on the 12V rails. The number of rails doesn't matter; they just make it easier to make the voltage more stable.

If your motherboard is AGP, that card will not fit in the slot. It is a PCI Express card and will only plug in a PCI Express slot.

You must also plug in the 6 pin PCI Express power connector directly into the card.

turtile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.