Radeon HD Settings - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-07-2009, 03:07 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 555
Default Re: Radeon HD Settings

is it normal for your GPU to 'underclock" when not in heavy use as well with the i7 rigs? with GPU-z I notice it at 900Mhz, then 250Mhz then back to 900 whenever I browse pages and stuff.


Should I get the ATI Catalyst™ 9.5 Suite or just the ATI Catalyst™ 9.5 Components ?? They went and got me all confused.
__________________

__________________
*UPDATED*
Windows 7 64bit
CPU: Intel Core i7 920 @ 2.67Ghz (Stock)
GPU: GTX 760
Ram: OCZ Platinum 6GB DDR3 1600 Triple Channel (Stock)
Mobo: ASUS P6T Deluxe
PSU: Corsair TX750W
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache (ST31000333AS)
Cooler Master HAF 932
Gothch1ck is offline  
Old 06-07-2009, 03:23 AM   #12 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: Radeon HD Settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gothch1ck View Post
is it normal for your GPU to 'underclock" when not in heavy use as well with the i7 rigs? with GPU-z I notice it at 900Mhz, then 250Mhz then back to 900 whenever I browse pages and stuff.


Should I get the ATI Catalystô 9.5 Suite or just the ATI Catalystô 9.5 Components ?? They went and got me all confused.
yes, its normal for the gpu to underclock, this saves power. its kind of like speedstep in a way.

if your going to use CCC get the suite, if not, just get the driver itself (stand alone download)
__________________

__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 06-07-2009, 11:24 AM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Radeon HD Settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gothch1ck View Post
is it normal for your GPU to 'underclock" when not in heavy use as well with the i7 rigs? with GPU-z I notice it at 900Mhz, then 250Mhz then back to 900 whenever I browse pages and stuff.

yep, all of the cool new cards do it to save power. i.e. GT200 and 48XX.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 06-07-2009, 11:34 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 555
Default Re: Radeon HD Settings

I got the one with "everything" CCC and all that.. but I don't know how happy I will be when I see what programs run in the background... I hate clutter.... and that includes programs that don't help me all the time when they are active.


So I went in an cranked everything to Quality then enabled Triple Buffering - do you think things should be fine?


*EDIT*

Things are not fine...

In the sims 3 my hair is transparent, and.. the gameplay stutters now, and exiting the game makes the Gamma VERY high ><


Edit2

I set my monitor to default contrast/brightness to help standardize my results (and omg I forgot how bright this thing is!) And found out it is "Adaptive AA" that is causing the hair transparency and such -

What do you recommend now? Using CCC to have everything cranked, besides AdaptiveAA or just set it where the application decides and crank it in each game?


My moni is bright.. I played Fallout3 and went to Operation Anchorage (A DLC that is training based in Anchorage Alaska) and I went snow blind in real life >.< Gotta find a way to turn down the brightness without hindering my image quality




*Edit 3*

My conclusion - until someone can tell me otherwise.. I am going to set CCC to defaults and just crank the heck outta each Game's Options menu, cuz to me it seems (but may be completely false) that the Options on each game would provide the "Best Possible Visual" when cranked to the Highest settings for that game.. and the use of CCC to set it to max seems to be giving me lots of problems.
__________________
*UPDATED*
Windows 7 64bit
CPU: Intel Core i7 920 @ 2.67Ghz (Stock)
GPU: GTX 760
Ram: OCZ Platinum 6GB DDR3 1600 Triple Channel (Stock)
Mobo: ASUS P6T Deluxe
PSU: Corsair TX750W
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache (ST31000333AS)
Cooler Master HAF 932
Gothch1ck is offline  
Old 06-07-2009, 12:58 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default Re: Radeon HD Settings

rightly or wrongly I always set everything to application controlled unless I have a specific issue I want to sidestep. You can go the other way and have everything setup in profiles (on nvidian cards anyway) on your GPU but that seems like a lot of work to me and maybe a bit pointless.
But just maxing everything on the card will give you problems, this is a PC after all, the games aren't developed with your specific graphics hardware in mind, letting your graphics card dictate max settings is going to give you a mixed bag of results.
The simplest solution is as I say, use application controlled.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 06-07-2009, 05:19 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Radeon HD Settings

wow, i have never had any kind of problems like this. do ATI's drivers really suck this bad?
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 06-08-2009, 07:37 AM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default Re: Radeon HD Settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
wow, i have never had any kind of problems like this. do ATI's drivers really suck this bad?

If you're refering to my comments then no, not at all, I was giving advice from my 8 years or so experiance running Nvidian graphics cards across hundreds of games, the HD4890 I have in my sig is the first ATI card i've had and that only for a few weeks.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 06-08-2009, 11:40 AM   #18 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Radeon HD Settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
wow, i have never had any kind of problems like this. do ATI's drivers really suck this bad?
I have never hod problems like this with cards from either brand.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 06-08-2009, 01:49 PM   #19 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Radeon HD Settings

My 4870 was running very hot before I put a liquid block on it.. That brand is the GPU? I hear Diamonds run hot. (NVM, it's in your sig.)

Get Riva Tuner to turn the fans up, first things first.

CPUID Hardware Monitor also works for temp monitoring. Mine still locks up from time to time.
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 06-08-2009, 06:09 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default Re: Radeon HD Settings

What case do you have Gothch1ck? and how many fans? I notice our systems are fairly similar. I've had no problems in Fallout 3 for example (or far Cry 2), though I don't play the sims.

First I would check the basics:
Does your mobo need the bios flashing to support your processor? have you done that?
Have you stress tested your CPU with prime 95 and your memory with memtest86?
Have you installed up to date motherboard and graphics drivers?
Have you stress tested the GPU with something like rthdribl or furmark?
Do you get any blue screens or other errors?
Have you checked load and idle temps for both CPU and GPU?

900mhz isn't stock speed for the 4890 so I'm guessing the card is pre-oc'd, if you are getting artifacts try lowering the clock to stock (850Mhz) and 3.8Ghz memory, if that gets rid of the artifacts then send the card back.

Additionally I suppose windows 7 could be to blame, i'm running XP32 at the moment. I'm installing windows 7 in a couple of weeks so I can report back then if I'm experiencing any oddities.

As for your bright monitor, bear in mind that the recommended setting for an LCD is 120 cd/m2 which is likely to be a fraction of your monitors capacity (most monitors have a default of 300 - 500). depending on your monitor the correct setting is likely to be somewhere between 20% and 50% brightness so don't be afraid to turn it down.

Finally an echo of my first post, turning everything on/max in CCC is just asking for trouble IMO.
__________________

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*Updated* Laptop Graphics Cards Ranking List veg1992 Laptops and Notebooks 98 12-05-2015 10:24 PM
My DICE Cooling Article. Peter.Cort Cooling 8 05-16-2009 05:08 PM
Ati Radeon HD 4890 and Radeon HD 4890 X2: Rumors from the Cebit thirdshiftdj New Technology and Products 2 03-10-2009 06:04 PM
ATI Radeon HD 4870 and Radeon HD 4850 Price Cuts This Week Fat.Clown Polls 1 03-03-2009 04:39 PM
New AMD/ATI card kicks butt zmatt New Systems | Building and Buying 76 05-22-2007 05:39 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.