QX6700 w/ 680i...poor overclocking exp... help? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-17-2007, 07:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default QX6700 w/ 680i...poor overclocking exp... help?

Ok so as you can see, I have a QX6700 and an EVGA 680i. Way back a couple months ago, I decided to get into OC'ing my comp. I ran into the problem of not being able to push the FSB much at all. After lots of trial and error, I ended up bumping my muliplier to x12 and my FSB to 1100 and increasing the vCore to 1.35. I feel like I'm missing out on overclocking potential with this FSB problem. I have a real nice watercooling setup so I'm not worried about heat issues. Can anybody explain this problem to me or suggest things I might be doing wrong.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 07:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: QX6700 w/ 680i...poor overclocking exp... help?

What are the rest of the voltages set to? NB, RAM, etc...You may have to bump up the voltage some more. 1.4v on the CPU, is nothing to be worried about, with watercooling.

You also might want to drop the multiplier, so you can get a higher FSB speed, which is better than a higher multiplier/lower FSB speed. 10x is a good one, which is stock. But then I guess that would defeat the purpose of having an Extreme edition.

...but with a x12 multiplier, you should be able to reach, at least 300(1200) on the FSB.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 08:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 510
Default Re: QX6700 w/ 680i...poor overclocking exp... help?

Have you made sure to set your RAM timings, voltage and frequency? (sorry if this is a stupid question!)
Andyf is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 10:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: QX6700 w/ 680i...poor overclocking exp... help?

Ok, my voltages are as follows:

CPU: 1.35v
FSB: 1.2v
Memory: 2.15v
nForce SPP: 1.25v
nForce MPP: 1.5v
HT nForce SPP <-> 1.2v

Andyf: Nothing is a stupid question for me. My memory is at 1100 MHz 1:1 2.2v 4-3-3-10. Thats not the problem.
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 10:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: QX6700 w/ 680i...poor overclocking exp... help?

first turn your FSB to 1.5V, or else you will never get ANYWHERE

i run mine at:

FSB: 1.5
SPP: 1.55
MPP: 1.65
HT: 1.60

i can easily boot at 4.1GHz and do basic tasks with a 1.55 CPU

hope that helps some.

i will link you to the 680i OC thread on xtremesystems later when i can find it.
mgcook is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Difference between Q6600 and QX6700 Sydzy New Systems | Building and Buying 19 09-10-2007 03:56 PM
QX6700 oc'ing help Pinscher Overclocking and Modding 5 06-06-2007 12:09 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.