Quietest Affordable PSU - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-18-2005, 01:25 AM   #21 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 404
Send a message via AIM to Pilotwings119 Send a message via Yahoo to Pilotwings119
Default

cool- can u help me real quick on something? it says that PSU is SATA, but i cant find the cables/connectors that are on the PSU listed anywhere! this will still work with ATA, wont it?
__________________

Pilotwings119 is offline  
Old 03-18-2005, 02:21 AM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

I don't honestly know if it has any SATA connectors. But even if it doesn't most SATA drives have a spot where you can connect a regular 4 pin to it if you don't have an SATA power connection available.
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 03-18-2005, 02:39 PM   #23 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 404
Send a message via AIM to Pilotwings119 Send a message via Yahoo to Pilotwings119
Default

i have ATA drives- so im wanting to make sure it'll work with those
Pilotwings119 is offline  
Old 03-18-2005, 03:07 PM   #24 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Going thermaltake is the good route

I run my 3400+ at 2.5GHZ and my 1 gig of ram, 2 7.2K RPM hard drives, 6600GT, Asus A8V, 14 fans off of

A 420Watt Thermaltake TD-420AD

I cant say how great this cheap little power supply is. All rails are within .1 volts as well.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-18-2005, 03:50 PM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Pilotwings119
i have ATA drives- so im wanting to make sure it'll work with those
ATA is a normal drive, aka IDE
Your power supply and mobo will of course be compatible with these as these are the default drive type
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 03-18-2005, 05:10 PM   #26 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 404
Send a message via AIM to Pilotwings119 Send a message via Yahoo to Pilotwings119
Default

ok- jus makin sure
Pilotwings119 is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 06:39 PM   #27 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 404
Send a message via AIM to Pilotwings119 Send a message via Yahoo to Pilotwings119
Default

i got the Thermaltake PSU (in my sig) in the mail today! I installed it, and it works GREAT! its super super quiet! Thanks guys
Pilotwings119 is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 07:17 PM   #28 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

nobody will agree but i just built mine using a rosewill 550 watt and it is EXTREMELY quiet, and sweet looking for 50 bucks. i have tons of stuff in my case and it powers it all
__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 07:38 PM   #29 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PoisonPorkchop
nobody will agree but i just built mine using a rosewill 550 watt and it is EXTREMELY quiet, and sweet looking for 50 bucks. i have tons of stuff in my case and it powers it all
actually i agree

but going with a brand like rosewill will increase the chances of your stuff getting fried or whatever and the psu itself won't have as much longitivety as brands such as PCP&C or thermaltake

ive played farcry on my comp using a generic 20pin 400/450W psu and it works fine, however, it doesn't mean my stuff won't get fried
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 10:07 PM   #30 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 404
Send a message via AIM to Pilotwings119 Send a message via Yahoo to Pilotwings119
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by diabloII
but going with a brand like rosewill will increase the chances of your stuff getting fried or whatever and the psu itself won't have as much longitivety as brands such as PCP&C or thermaltake
exactly- i told agree
__________________

Pilotwings119 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.