Quick Voltage Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2007, 12:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Quick Voltage Question

If I want to keep overclocking, I need to increase the voltage. Do I just increase the CPU voltage, or do I need to mess with anything else? All of those other sections (see pic) have stuff like +.1V, +.2V, etc. I can't actually set the voltage to like 1.345 or something like I can with the CPU voltage, I can only use those + values to add more voltage.

Pic of voltage section in BIOS:http://i102.photobucket.com/albums/m...s/CIMG0035.jpg
__________________

MetalOwns is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 03:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Quick Voltage Question

Leave the Voltage the way it is for now. Up only your FSB and if it becomes unstable, Up your Voltage a notch.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 10:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Re: Quick Voltage Question

yeah... voltage is for only stability. raising just the voltage will NOT increase the performance and it just gives off more heat but raising FSB will increase the performance. just don't set the voltage too high like over 1.5V i recommend you to have 1.5V at the max. also watch your temps when overclocking.
__________________
Graphics card: Inno3D Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS @ 640/940 (core/memory)
MB: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 v3.3 F12
RAM: 2 Kingston HyperX DDR2 800MHz (4GB total)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6320 @variable rates (will fix my fan problem soon and overclock high again)
HSF: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme & Antec Tricool 120mm fan
PSU: Delta Serverpower 550W
HD: Seagate 400GB ST340032AS & Excelstor 80GB (both SATA)
Case: don't know what case it is but it is very crappy
Optical Drive: Lite-on 16X DVD+&- RW DL (died) using a CD-ROM drive until I get a new blu ray burner or whatever i can get


http://web26.hopto.org:443/

**been afk from tech-forums for a while so this is the updates specs**
advancedgeek is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 12:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: Quick Voltage Question

Yeah I have increased the FSB, and I had to lower it because it would fail orthos. It's set at 325 right now, so thats about 2.91. I'd like to get it close to 3.2. I want it atleast to 3GHz.

So I don't have to mess with any of the other voltages? Cuz I don't wanna mess anything up here.
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 01:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Quick Voltage Question

Increase the Voltage to 1.4, then UP your MHz to 355. And run Orthos.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 02:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Quick Voltage Question

You might have to turn your RAM speed down a little bit.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 02:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: Quick Voltage Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazeD View Post
You might have to turn your RAM speed down a little bit.
How would I do that?
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 03:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Quick Voltage Question

lower the timings. that might be complet and utter bullcrap but i know nothing about O/C ram, ooh i might even get 5 points
Nick is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 11:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Quick Voltage Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by MetalOwns View Post
How would I do that?
I believe it was through BIOS.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 11:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: Quick Voltage Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by phucng_10 View Post
I believe it was through BIOS.
Well yeah, but what settings?
__________________

MetalOwns is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick Dual Channel Ram question andrewsvalesen New Systems | Building and Buying 7 07-28-2007 11:03 AM
Very quick question my friends psychedelos New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-13-2007 03:00 PM
Quick question sailpog New Systems | Building and Buying 4 04-11-2007 11:38 PM
Quick question, currently building computer..(Mobo into case) Alexinator New Systems | Building and Buying 0 03-31-2007 01:48 AM
quick question Fozzy New Systems | Building and Buying 2 03-25-2007 09:46 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.