Quick ratio question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-20-2009, 06:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13
Default Quick ratio question

Asus P5B Motherboard
Intel e6600 c2d (stock 2.4GHz)
Stock cooler
4GB Geil PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
650W Be Quiet! PSU
XFX 260GTX (216 core)
320GB Samsung HDD (OS and programs)
1TB Samsung HDD (media)
Case: Antec 900 Two


Am I better off running my CPU at 3.0GHz and my RAM at 666MHz (1:1 ratio, underclocked RAM, 333MHz FSB), or my CPU at 2.88GHz and my RAM at 800MHz? (4:5 ratio, RAM at default clock although I had to drop the divider one notch in my BIOS, 320MHz FSB)

My PC has been a little unstable at 3.0GHz this summer but I think that's a cooling issue as it was fine all winter. Whenever I run Orthos it hits about 60-65 degrees after a few minutes and complains before eventually hanging and needing a restart. I'm debating replacing my cooler if necessary, but the room my PC is in can get quite warm, being in the roof of the house :/ Also, I haven't been able to push it past 3GHz with any stability. I had the VCore up to 1.5V nearly and it still wouldn't have it, so I think the motherboard isn't up to the stress of a higher FSB.

Thanks in advance

jamaicaska is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 09:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
H4x3r's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default Re: Quick ratio question

While there has been much debate as to whether or not the 1:1 ratio is better, it does indeed put less stress on the chipset to handle. I personally push my cpu as far as i can get it, then do the same with ram while keeping a stable machine. For you it would probably provide more benefit to keep your ram at the stock speed over underclocking it.

For stability try increasing the voltage to the NB a little as well as DRAM voltage, keep in mind that the E6600 has a max temp of around 61c. So if you get above that the thermal sensor is going to reboot the system.

H4x3r is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 07:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13
Default Re: Quick ratio question

Aha, if 61c is about the max temp for it then I think I need a new cooler, or at least to re-do my thermal paste or something. It's currently hitting 57c ish at full load @ 2.88GHz.

Thanks a lot
jamaicaska is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
quick question. NEED HELP! Static_11 Off Topic Discussion 14 02-25-2008 08:36 AM
a quick question here tmd07 System Upgrades 5 02-20-2008 07:50 PM
Quick Question! Best Graphics card for under 80? Chazzer3 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 01-09-2008 12:45 AM
Quick Ram Question (Please at least look at) Higach Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 01-06-2008 01:06 AM
Quick question on cooling my COOLER MASTER Centurion 5. Saint71 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 10-20-2007 10:36 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.