quick question.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2008, 02:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
Question quick question..

fsb before was 280(multi 10) so speed was 2.8ghz

my fsb is now at 270(multi 10.5) NOW 2.84ghz

At both settings,i coulden increase my fsb above 280..(i have divided my ram already so no worries)

My main concern is wad makes the board unstable?is it the fsb or the cpu speed?
__________________

__________________
CPU: C2D E8400 @3.8Ghz
MEM: 4x2Gb TeamElite @844Mhz 5-5-5-15
GPU: Sapphire 6950 2 Gb Dirt 3 flashed to 6970
HDD:Western Digital 2x500Gb
PSU: Corsair AX750 Gold
CPUCooling: Noctua NH-U12P
Casing: RaidMax Case
galant_mod is offline  
Old 03-13-2008, 02:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: quick question..

You probably need more voltage to the CPU. That's one of the most important factors in keeping an overclocking going, or getting it stable.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-13-2008, 02:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
Default Re: quick question..

read this b1gapl OverClocked inside - Redaktion ocinside.de PC hardware page

i have used the settings recommended.+ vcore is higher at 1.4v.
Do you think if i have a higher multiplier to choose from, i would be stable at 3ghz?
__________________
CPU: C2D E8400 @3.8Ghz
MEM: 4x2Gb TeamElite @844Mhz 5-5-5-15
GPU: Sapphire 6950 2 Gb Dirt 3 flashed to 6970
HDD:Western Digital 2x500Gb
PSU: Corsair AX750 Gold
CPUCooling: Noctua NH-U12P
Casing: RaidMax Case
galant_mod is offline  
Old 03-13-2008, 02:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: quick question..

It could be possible, but you have to note, that just because you have the same settings as that article, that you'll get the same overclock. Every motherboard or CPU will overclock differently.

I'm just guessing that you need a little more voltage.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-13-2008, 03:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
Default Re: quick question..

ic..erm..i just ran orthos with vcore higher but it failed in like 30 secs..now im trying with multi 10.5 fsb276 @2.9ghz.so far so good.do u think i can up my fsb back to 280 and still be stable?coz i think it is the fsb that is limiting and not the cpu speed..
__________________
CPU: C2D E8400 @3.8Ghz
MEM: 4x2Gb TeamElite @844Mhz 5-5-5-15
GPU: Sapphire 6950 2 Gb Dirt 3 flashed to 6970
HDD:Western Digital 2x500Gb
PSU: Corsair AX750 Gold
CPUCooling: Noctua NH-U12P
Casing: RaidMax Case
galant_mod is offline  
Old 03-13-2008, 03:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: quick question..

Is there an FSB voltage control? Sometimes that is needed to achieve a higher FSB.

What motherboard are you overclocking with, anyway?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-13-2008, 04:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
Default Re: quick question..

no..there isnt.. only vcore and memcore control. its a micro atx biostar nf61s board.
__________________

__________________
CPU: C2D E8400 @3.8Ghz
MEM: 4x2Gb TeamElite @844Mhz 5-5-5-15
GPU: Sapphire 6950 2 Gb Dirt 3 flashed to 6970
HDD:Western Digital 2x500Gb
PSU: Corsair AX750 Gold
CPUCooling: Noctua NH-U12P
Casing: RaidMax Case
galant_mod is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
quick question. NEED HELP! Static_11 Off Topic Discussion 14 02-25-2008 09:36 AM
a quick question here tmd07 System Upgrades 5 02-20-2008 08:50 PM
Quick Ram Question (Please at least look at) Higach Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 01-06-2008 02:06 AM
Quick case question sailpog System Upgrades 6 10-05-2007 12:21 PM
Very quick question my friends psychedelos New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-13-2007 03:00 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.