Quick Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2006, 05:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Default Quick Question

I just started overclocking my computer and I just wanted to make sure I'm doing everything right.

Here are my specs:
AMD64 3200+ Venice- currently at 2.4 Ghz
Zalman 7700 CPU Cooler
MSI K8N Platinum nForce 4Ultra
1 GB (512x2) OCZ Platinum Revision 2 DDR400
2x 250GB WD Sata150
Audigy 2 ZS
Rosewill 550W PSU
eVGA 6800GT @stock speeds

I am running at:
CPU Bus: 240
CPU Multiplier: 10x
HT Multiplier: 4x
Mem Settings: 2.5-3-3-8
CPU Voltage: 1.5V
Memory Voltage: 2.8V
Chipset Voltage: 1.6V

What can I change to get higher clocks? Stability? What do I increase or decrease to get the most effective setup (best performance for the least pressure on CPU)? What would anyone suggest? I have got to 2.5 GHz, but benchmarks like 3dmark03 wouldn't run
__________________

persianxballer is offline  
Old 11-09-2006, 09:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

if u want to go even higher. u should get an aftermarket heatsink. and as u increase ur fsb frequency u should increase the vcore accordingly. and what did u mean when u said that 3d mark wouldnt run??
__________________

__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 11-09-2006, 09:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

You also have to adjust RAM voltages and timmings. Maybe even a RAM divider at some point.
The two programs you should use to torture are either Prime 95 or OCCT.
You should get a Temp program such as:
SpeedFan
Motherboard Mointer
Everest
Ste is offline  
Old 11-10-2006, 08:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

ok, look at your mobo manual and reset your cmos (start overclocking from scratch)

u usually want to increase your voltage by an increment or 2... this results in a more stable overclock, but also causes a significant temperature increase.

after increasing cpu voltage, i would start by lowering your ram speed (aka ram divider) you want to adjust it from 200mhz (ddr400) to 166mhz. this will give you room to overclock higher. i know it sounds like it will make things go slower but ram speed is linked to fsb so as u raise your fsb, your ram speed will increase as well. i am guess you get the blue screen o' death/physical memory dump screen when you go to +2.5GHz and try and run an app such as 3dmarkXX etc. this is cuz your memory gets overloaded because you have it set to 200mhz then increase the fsb so the ram is actually probably running at like 220 or so. its just too fast for it.

once you have put in the ram diveder and increased the cpu voltage, start increasing the fsb by 2-3mhz at a time. allow several hours of benchmarking and tourcher testing prior to bumping up the fsb again. you will notice in the MSI CoreCell menu (where you adjust your fsb) that the line having to do with your ram frequency will increase as you increase your fsb (this is what i was talking about earlier) you dont want this to get too far over 200 or you will start going unstable again.

after you have reached the ceiling there, its time to overclock you GPU, but we'll save that for another time.

good luck, and remember, it should take like 2 weeks to properly overclock your cpu to the max, dont try and rush it... i wouldnt recommend more than 5mhz fsb adjustment per day.
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 10:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Default

Now that's the type of advice I needed. I really appreciate it cwiz
persianxballer is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 12:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

my core cell menu doesnt have memory dividers

nothing to lower the ram at least...
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 02:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Flash your BIOS. IT "May" add new features.

Go to your motherboards website and find the download file.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 02:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

nah, i don't really mind... lol, i can't even reach the 400mhz speed of it.. i've topped out at 380 with 1.9v.. 2.0 and 2.1 made no difference....

my cpu just can't hang with it.. lol
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 02:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

A 40 Mhz OC on a 3200+ is pretty good.

When I had my winchester I was only able to get a 22Mhz OC on stock.
But I had alot of limitations.
Ultra X-Connect 400 Watt < ****ty PSU
Corsair Value Ram < ****ty RAM
some X Gamer Case < Got too hot (Too confined)
ATI 9600 XT < ATI Clased with Nvidia Chipset
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.