A Question I Was Asked. Please Help. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2007, 01:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default A Question I Was Asked. Please Help.

This was a question asked to me, An a reply someone said to him. Read both then I'd like to hear your comment's / opinion's, And your answer you'd reply with to that question.

Thank's.

Question
Quote:
Can I ask - what's the point of overclocking a processor that the OS isn't even capable of fully utilizing? I used to OC my hardware, even used water cooling with a "bong" water tower and 120mm fan... I just don't understand the benefit with current software technology.
Reply He Got


Quote:
From my experiance for building water cooling systems for my customers peoples main fucus is over clocking the "GPU" and Memory freequency using overclocking utilites. will not see much diffrence with the CPU because O.S. applications will not utilize the bandwith of a CPU (beside autocade) < - hope i spelt it right. also what i notice is that the population for water cooling has gone down and i think is because of speed of todays new hardware.
__________________

augest is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 06:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

Actually, the OS and any programs running automatically make use of the extra speed. "...isn't even capable of fully utilizing?" Where's they get this crap?

The same Windows runs on my old AMD 2000+ as on my 3200+ (which is overclocked, by the way). If I had a C2D, it would run the same Windows. In other words, the speed of the CPU has an automatic effect on the OS, in that the OS runs at the same friggin' speed of the CPU.

Water-cooling allows one to OC further due to the better cooling afforded by the water loop.

It is true, however, that most games are more graphic intensive than CPU intensive, so OC the GFX cards would do even better. Water-cooling the GFX helps with this, as well.

Basically, both the one asking and one answering were wrong, and full of BS.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 02-01-2007, 10:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Dexaroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 551
Send a message via AIM to Dexaroni Send a message via MSN to Dexaroni
Default

I think overclocking in general is fairly useless, but I still do it.

A 2.0 ghz Athlon 64 processor will run all the newest stuff just fine, practically the same as a 2.6 ghz Athlon 64 processor. The idea is getting more performance out of your stuff, just because you can.
__________________
Dexaroni is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 11:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

^^agree^^
i just do it to do it. the only time i notice a difference really is when i run superpi, lol.
but, i am guessing that if you have an e6300 and go from it's stock of 1.86ghz to super-smokin 3.2ghz...i would think you would notice some pretty significant performance increases.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 12:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

i think that it is only useful when going to the extremes. Taking a 2.66 ghz cpu up to like 3.3, ehhh no difference. Going from 2.66 up to like 4.2, that is a huge leap.

Overclocking and its terms of usability have to factor in everything on the machine. If you overclock a huge amount, but have a small bus or slow memory, its useless.

My bottom line, if you are going to overclock...... Do it to the extremes and make sure that you are pretty much overclocking everything in your machine. cpu, bus, memory, pcie bus, graphics cards
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 01:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

holy **** jseber.....nice rig....how are those 8800gtxs running???


and yea....i only overclock to do it....my old athlon i OCed from the stock 2.4 ghz to 2.6 ghz.....never noticed a change except on bencmarks.....my new opteron 165 is OCed from its stock 1.8 ghz to 2.8 ghz...and soon to be 3.0ghz....i definately notice a difference....
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 02:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

i agree with jseber. if you're gonna do it, do it to the limit.
the only thing, with my amd...as it has hypertransport and not a fsb (they kinda sorta are the same thing but different, lol)...it doesn't benefit me at all to overclock the ht. actually, it usually tends to hinder efforts to overclock the amd's. i set it very low when pushing my overclock, to ensure that i don't have any stability issues stemming from it.
just wanted to make that distinction for you amd users out there.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 07:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

lol, its just like saying a 733 pIII will run the same speed in windows as say, a c2d E6300...of course the faster cpu will run faster.

yea, amd overclocking is fun if you know what to do, ive always had good luck with intels (unless it was a prebuild)
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 09:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

word.
i enjoy overclocking my cpu cos sometimes it is a nasty challenge...
"why wont you boot...why wont you BOOT?!?"
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 10:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

It's just plain fun to boot into windows a see a higher clock speed than it came with stock. Especially after the work it takes sometimes to get there. That's why there's teams to OC to the limits, people just like to push things and find out how far they can take the PC they just built.
__________________

__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.