Question for all.... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-30-2005, 06:50 PM   #11 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Just wrap a bare peice of wire around a finger, and put the other end in thr ground port on an outlet or attach it somewhere on your case.

Your body automatically creates electricity, so you can always dispense ESD. Your whole body is run with electricity, and just moing around and rubbing your thighs together can create static.

You just need to have something to trael the electricity from your body to somewhere it can dissipate, like your computer case.
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 07:08 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 133
Default

wearing rubber gloves?
__________________

tylerdrude is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 07:10 PM   #13 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default

prob, that might work....maybe some rubber boots!
__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 07:49 PM   #14 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Gloves maybe, boots no. Thats like saying sitting in a car during a lightning storm will keep you safe. Goddamn liars!

Just use a bare peice of wire, connected to any part of your body.
Him is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 07:59 PM   #15 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default

Will work on ur P**is...j/k yeah ill try the wire thing...but if i die!
__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 08:58 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 133
Default

wrap the wire around your wrist, then to where?
tylerdrude is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 09:33 PM   #17 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default

to the case
__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 09:02 AM   #18 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

To a peice of bare metal on your case (where there is not paint) or something equally as big and made out of metal. Your best bet is either your case or the grouding port on an electrical outlet. Be careful not to put it in the hot or neutral (the two slots) put it in the third circular one. Put it in one of the other ones, there is a better than average chance you gonna die.

Just remember that ESD needs a place to be sent to and to dissipate. To dissipate, it needs a good amount of metal, hence a computer case. The ground in your hose will work, and anything equally as big as a computer case will also suffice.
Him is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 09:13 AM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Him
Just wrap a bare peice of wire around a finger, and put the other end in thr ground port on an outlet or attach it somewhere on your case.
On an outlet? Even if it's the ground port that's like sticking your finger in a plug! Just don't do it.

You shouldn't make a wrist strap out of any metal wire. A real one has a resistor that bleeds the electricity from you slowly, so it doesn't cause any damage. A metal wire will usually have no resistance, so it could still hurt something.

If you're spending however much on computer parts, you can afford to buy a real wrist strap.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 09:23 AM   #20 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

First off, the ground port on an outlet is completely void of any electricity, provided the house is not faulty. They make grounding straps that specially plug into the ground outlet, it is completely harmless.

Foe example, my house is rather old. The ground all terminates at a big copper rod. It is wound around it many times, and then 3/4 of the rod is buried in cement and in dirt. Most ground are just this or a wire, buried in the dirt, ending nowwhere. It's like lightning, it needs a path to the ground to dissipate, Hence the name, ground.

That resistor is almost mute. It serves a purpose, but it is not needed. As long as you have a way to take eccess ESD from you and to somewhere else and not your peices, you are fine. Any method of doing it is proper. But yes, as m3trj said, just get a strap. You can get ones at Radio Shack for like $4.
__________________

Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.