Question again? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-17-2006, 02:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Middletown, Ohio
Posts: 89
Question Question again?

I have a Dell Deminsion 3000...Can I do anything to this computer to make it fast or anything, overclocking etc... It's a Pentium 4 processor, XP Home...?


Thanks!
__________________

tbsk8er04 is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 02:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

You can't overclock because the BIOS is locked.
__________________

__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 04:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

You might be able to over clock with a program that I'm forgetting the name of, but it's not really worth the minimal gains you would get.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 05:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

I think you meant easytune 5. But yea like crazeD said. It's not worth it, using a software program to overclock.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 07:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

Install some more memory.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 09:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

um...get a new pc? dell's are too stingy about upgrading and modding, kinda like sony and their psp.
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 09:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by b1gapl
I think you meant easytune 5. But yea like crazeD said. It's not worth it, using a software program to overclock.
well, I would like to try it. How much could it overclock and can it hurt your computer if you screw up? I have a Dell also
__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 10:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kfc469
well, I would like to try it. How much could it overclock and can it hurt your computer if you screw up? I have a Dell also
If you are unsure of the consequences and problems that may arouse from over clocking, then it is not for you.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 08:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Middletown, Ohio
Posts: 89
Default

Yeah I feel that way towards my Dell to, too office likey. So you're saying I should trash the dell and not mod anything, like video/sound card, overclocking, monitor? Don't even attempt to tweadle with it?
tbsk8er04 is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 11:19 AM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Not really worth it. And you probably won't get a significant overclock if you did.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.