Question about the ram divider - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2005, 01:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default Question about the ram divider

Is it really worth it to overclock your cpu if your ram divider is not set at 1:1? Will you see any improvement at all if you dont use 1:1?
__________________

Hacp is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 01:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

That is a hard question and I haven't gotten a really straight answer yet either. I know it must do something, because my processor is faster. It'd be like me buying an Athlon 3500+ or something with the RAM still functioning at 200 MHz. Of course a 3500+ is faster than a 3000+. I'd imagine it'd give improvement, but it'd give a crapload more improvement if you could keep it at 1:1 which is really the best.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 06:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

But isn't the 3500 faster because it has a higher clock multiplier? Please someone help me out with this. It is crucial in my decision to either buy a amd 64 3000+ or 3200+.
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 06:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

ok you guys are seriously mixed up in your info............all AMD64's run at 200HTT which is what PC3200 RAM is....be it an AMD64 3000+ or an FX-55 if you have PC3200 it's going to be 1:1 the only thing that changes speeds is the multiplier and of course core differences.

Using something besides 1:1 results in LOSS of performance because the CPU and RAM aren't communicating at the same speeds, one is having to wait for the other.....

Of course if you are an extreme overclocker you might be able to get your CPU to like 320HTT whereas your RAM will only hit 275MHz DDR550 speeds.....but when both the CPU and RAM are that high......it really doesn't matter if it's not 1:1 at that point, but 1:1 is optimal
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 06:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Sry for being such a newbie, but can you run ddr 433,66, etc ram on a ddr400 mobo? I'm a little confused about that.
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 02:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Depends on the system, if it's an AMD Socket A system then going above 400FSB means you're overclocking the whole mobo's system speeds which means you'd generally need more voltage to the north bridge which means more heat.

Read into overclocking more and all these kinds of questions will be answered.

Just realize on an AMD64 they are all stock 200HTT....you CAN go above that like 250HTT and then that would match with DDR500 RAM, BUT you'd need to lower the link speed multiplier on the AMD64 so that your total board bandwidth stays at 2000HTT....but from the sounds of it you're more talking about a socket A system which I just explained above......Yes it's possible, but to go beyond that on a socket A system is harder than on the AMD64's
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 04:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

I'm talking about a 64 btw. Also, why do you need to lower the link speed multiplier? Is it necessary to do that? I didn't get what you meant when you said that the total board bandwith has to stay at 2000 htt.
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 05:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

http://i4memory.com/showthread.php?t=327

read that, a very thorough guide on OC'ing AMD64's

Simply put, going beyond 2000HTT doesn't give any substantial gains but will give you instability.
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 11:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

thanks
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 12:12 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Using something besides 1:1 results in LOSS of performance because the CPU and RAM aren't communicating at the same speeds, one is having to wait for the other.....
This isn't making sense to me... if the CPU is supposed to be at 1.8 GHz and is at 2.4 GHz, and the FSB is supposed to be at 200 MHz and is at 250 MHz, and the RAM is supposed to be at 200 MHz and is at 200 MHz (not the same as the FSB) how do you get a loss in performance? It doesn't make sense to me. Even if something has to wait for the RAM, it will still run at least as fast as before, right? You have two things that went up, and one thing that stayed right where it was.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.