question about RAID - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2006, 06:44 PM   #21 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

The RAID controller won't "bottleneck" your HDD....
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 12-19-2006, 09:31 PM   #22 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

lol im sorry im really noobish. what is required to put two raptors in raid0?? one friend told me a controller was needed, another said it wasnt... what is the cheapest solution for raptors in raid0 with links PLEASE! christmas is 6 days away....
__________________

__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 12-19-2006, 09:55 PM   #23 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

If your motherboard has two SATA150 connectors, and supports RAID configurations, then all you have to do is plug them in and configure it!

Set your hard-drive type to RAID in the BIOS, then insert your Windows CD and boot up. When it asks you to press (I think it is F6) the button to load RAID drivers, press it (make sure your RAID drivers floppy is in the floppy drive [or CD]) and then you should be able to figure it out.

Someone else may be able to go more in-depth if that doesn't help you...I've never actually done it.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 12-19-2006, 10:49 PM   #24 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

oh wow after all this i learn that i dont need a raid controller. cool :]]]
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 10:16 PM   #25 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 55
Default

You may not need a separate pci controller, only "IF" your board has the requisite (usually "software" based) controller chip on board. RTFM!

Raid0 is usually not worth the greater data loss risk for its minimal performance increase. Raid0+1 , 5 are better choices...most important is the purpose/use of the pc, as not all uses will benefit from the slight performance increase a hardware card with ample ram will afford.

If only for braggin' rights then the preceding doesnt matter so much....
krazefinn is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 02:05 AM   #26 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

it's not for bragging rights... im suprised to hear that raid0 doesnt give a good performance gain... are there any hard drive benchmarks? i googled it earlier but i couldn't find any. im curious now lol :]]
__________________

__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.