Question about overclocking Q6600. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-23-2007, 03:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 70
Default Question about overclocking Q6600.

Hey guys, I just finished my build and I have a question about OC my Q6600.

Firstly, I have an Antec 900 case with a lot of fans in it (6 total).

Can I overclock my CPU to 3.0GHZ while still having it very stable and at a good temperature? Or is it risky? I don't want to add anything else to my computer (i.e. liquid cooling) so what do you guys think?
__________________

__________________
Completely Sunday, December 23/2007

Processor: Q6600 Quad-Core
RAM: 4GB Kingston RAM
Graphics Card: 8800GTX 768mb
Motherboard: Asus Striker Extreme Gaming Motherboard
Hard drive: Seagate 500gb 7200RPM harddrive
Monitor: 24" Samsung monitor
Case: Antec 900 gaming motherboard
Speakers, Mouse, Keyboard: TEC Sound
Pastasauce is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 03:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 131
Send a message via AIM to Durftard Send a message via MSN to Durftard
Default Re: Question about overclocking Q6600.

All depends on the chip!

But for the most part, yes. A lot of people are able to achieve 3.4ghz-3.6ghz on their g0 Q6600's at a decent vcore... What heatsink are you using? And is it a B3 or G0 stepping? (use cpu-z to find out)
__________________

__________________
MSI P6N Platinum SLI 650i
Cooler Master Stacker 830 SE
E2180 Core Duo @ 3.0Ghz (1.3vCore)+Stock HSF
2x 1GB G.skill @ 840Mhz 4-4-4-10-14
GeForce 8800 GTS 320 MB @ 655Mhz/1050Mhz
Samsung 19" SyncMaster 906BW
Corsair HX-520W
Durftard is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 03:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: Question about overclocking Q6600.

What cooler do you have on your cpu? Is it the stock intel cooler? Also what stepping is it, B3 or G0?

I have a G0 Q6600 and when I was still using the stock cooler, I had it at 2.83 GHz... I think you can probably get 3.0 GHz but you're gonna have to have all of your fans on the high setting which will make it sound like your pc is ready for liftoff.

Get a program called CoreTemp to monitor the temperatures and make sure it doesn't go higher than 71c.... if it does, you'll need to throttle back your overclock. Get a program called prime 95 to make sure your oc is stable and to stress test it while monitoring the temps. CPU_Z will tell you what stepping your Q6600 is if you don't know.
__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 03:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 70
Default Re: Question about overclocking Q6600.

I downloaded the CoreTemp programming. I have no idea what stepping it is, or what cooler it is. My temperatures are all less then 40 degrees celsius.

Oh wait, the stepping is B according to CPU-Z
__________________
Completely Sunday, December 23/2007

Processor: Q6600 Quad-Core
RAM: 4GB Kingston RAM
Graphics Card: 8800GTX 768mb
Motherboard: Asus Striker Extreme Gaming Motherboard
Hard drive: Seagate 500gb 7200RPM harddrive
Monitor: 24" Samsung monitor
Case: Antec 900 gaming motherboard
Speakers, Mouse, Keyboard: TEC Sound
Pastasauce is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 03:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Question about overclocking Q6600.

What does it say under revision in CPU-Z?
b3 or g0?
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 03:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 70
Default Re: Question about overclocking Q6600.

G0.

*Message too short*
__________________
Completely Sunday, December 23/2007

Processor: Q6600 Quad-Core
RAM: 4GB Kingston RAM
Graphics Card: 8800GTX 768mb
Motherboard: Asus Striker Extreme Gaming Motherboard
Hard drive: Seagate 500gb 7200RPM harddrive
Monitor: 24" Samsung monitor
Case: Antec 900 gaming motherboard
Speakers, Mouse, Keyboard: TEC Sound
Pastasauce is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 03:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Question about overclocking Q6600.

then you should be able to hit 3ghz guaranteed..and with good cooling much more.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 04:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 70
Default Re: Question about overclocking Q6600.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
then you should be able to hit 3ghz guaranteed..and with good cooling much more.
Right now I have no cooling other than my antec 900 case fans. So it should be fine right? Also, I just increase the FSB to make it 3.0Ghz? It will be extremely stable as well right?
__________________
Completely Sunday, December 23/2007

Processor: Q6600 Quad-Core
RAM: 4GB Kingston RAM
Graphics Card: 8800GTX 768mb
Motherboard: Asus Striker Extreme Gaming Motherboard
Hard drive: Seagate 500gb 7200RPM harddrive
Monitor: 24" Samsung monitor
Case: Antec 900 gaming motherboard
Speakers, Mouse, Keyboard: TEC Sound
Pastasauce is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 04:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Question about overclocking Q6600.

You should be able to hit 3.0ghz stable at stock voltage. You will need to manually set the vcore though otherwise it will go up if left on auto.

Set it to 1.3v and then your fsb to 333mhz. Make sure your memory is running at it's rated speed, then go to save settings and reboot.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 11:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 70
Default Re: Question about overclocking Q6600.

Hmm I'm confused with this BIOS where's the fsb speed?
__________________

__________________
Completely Sunday, December 23/2007

Processor: Q6600 Quad-Core
RAM: 4GB Kingston RAM
Graphics Card: 8800GTX 768mb
Motherboard: Asus Striker Extreme Gaming Motherboard
Hard drive: Seagate 500gb 7200RPM harddrive
Monitor: 24" Samsung monitor
Case: Antec 900 gaming motherboard
Speakers, Mouse, Keyboard: TEC Sound
Pastasauce is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking the q6600 on the ds3R Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 18 11-17-2007 07:37 PM
Overclocking q6600 raiden_nrl Overclocking and Modding 2 10-30-2007 09:35 PM
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 12:59 AM
Question about my B3 q6600 veedubfreak New Systems | Building and Buying 10 08-10-2007 12:20 PM
Overclocking a q6600 Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-04-2007 02:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.