Question About Overclocking My System. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2008, 08:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Default Question About Overclocking My System.


I just bought a computer from Best Buy. I was thinking about building one, but I didn't have the time to shop for parts. Anyways I was wondering if it would be possible to overclock my CPU to 2.8GHz - 3.2GHz.

My Specs:
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4GHz
Nvidia GeForce 7100
nForce 630i Motherboard

Any help and information would help. And what does overclocking do for me exactly? How much difference will I see from 2.4GHz to something higher? I have heard and read that this system is overclockable, but I want more interpretation before I attempt anything.

Thank You.

Durr. is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 08:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
veg1992's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Question About Overclocking My System.

You can't overclock a custom built Rig from a normal manufacturer.. unless it was a private builder, but since you said you got it from Best Buy.. I'm guessing no...

The CPU will be locked from overclocking most likely in the BIOS (no unlocks possible sorry ). Unless you have a Dell H2C then it might be overclockable

I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.

.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 10:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
stalin90's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: Question About Overclocking My System.

he might be able to flash the bios
Nvidia GeForce 7100
nForce 630i Motherboard
go on the ever forums and see if there are any bios' for your mb, but i dont think your board is made for overclocking too much.

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking question Higach Overclocking and Modding 14 01-01-2008 04:28 AM
GPU Overclocking...simple question mgcook Overclocking and Modding 3 12-31-2007 11:07 PM
Question about overclocking Q6600. Pastasauce Overclocking and Modding 10 12-24-2007 02:18 AM
Issue with BF2 on my E510 dykzeulb PC Gaming 8 10-21-2007 03:26 PM
Question About The Yellow and Red Cards Harper Off Topic Discussion 118 03-24-2007 10:02 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.