Question about OC'd Q9550 Temps - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-17-2008, 03:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 64
Default Question about OC'd Q9550 Temps

Yep, another one of those threads... :P

I have my Q9550 OC'd to 3.6 and my Idle temps are 45~ Load 65~. I'm using a Xigmatek s1283 with the stock fan.

If I got a new fan (looking at the Ultra Kaze), do ya think it'd decrease temps? The stock fan's only spinnin' 1400rpm. I don't like the temps at all, and I'm looking to OC a bit more but the temp's are scaring me.

Thanks ya.

Edit: Oh I forgot to add my vcore in cpuz shows 1.26 but it might be higher in bios, like 1.28. I'll double check though. And mobo is P5Q Deluxe.
__________________

Inserity is offline  
Old 12-17-2008, 03:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Question about OC'd Q9550 Temps

what program are you using to monitor the temps? use realtemp, it is most accurate for 45nm quads IMO.
what are you using to to load the CPU?
if those temps are accurate, yes...the load temp is a little high for that voltage.
i have a 9450 @ 1.25 and the same cooler and i idle at 33-37 (depending on room temp) and load at 53-55* with smp folding on all cores.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-17-2008, 04:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 64
Default Re: Question about OC'd Q9550 Temps

Using Realtemp but my TJ.Max is set to 100. Are 45nm Quad's Tj.Max supposed to be set to 100 or 95? I've read that it's 100. If I put it to 95, it shows idle is 40 and that makes me much happier lol.

As for loading it, using prime.
Inserity is offline  
Old 12-17-2008, 10:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Question about OC'd Q9550 Temps

its 95.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-17-2008, 11:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 92
Default Re: Question about OC'd Q9550 Temps

what is it for i7's?
kbaird is offline  
Old 12-17-2008, 11:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Question about OC'd Q9550 Temps

couldnt tell ya.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 01:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 64
Default Re: Question about OC'd Q9550 Temps

Ok sweet thanks. 40 idle is much better.

So do you think my proc should be able to hit 3.6 at a lower vcore? What's your clock speed set to 24/7? 3.75 like in your sig?
Inserity is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 01:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Question about OC'd Q9550 Temps

3.6 ghz 90% of the time. it does it at 1.25V all day long.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 01:08 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 64
Default Re: Question about OC'd Q9550 Temps

Hm, time to hit the BIOS again. Think I could do 3.8? I had it there for about a month then all the sudden it kept BSODing so I just lowered to 8.5x400 so it's even.

And thanks for the help. We have almost the exact same system. 4870 1GB ftw.
Inserity is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 01:21 AM   #10 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Question about OC'd Q9550 Temps

4870 FTW thats what im sayin. i just got a scythe musashi today for mine. werd.
what mobo do you have?

NVM see that you have a deluxe. yeah, 3.8 should be possible for your chip. i will post all my settigns for you and you can go from that.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Temps for Q6700 vs. QX6850 TheMaestro New Systems | Building and Buying 29 11-05-2007 10:33 AM
E6400 temps Syphanx Overclocking and Modding 2 11-03-2007 10:13 PM
e6600 temps very weird mattchew13 Overclocking and Modding 6 10-20-2007 12:03 PM
Mobo temps? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-21-2007 10:10 PM
E6600 Idle temps STATus h2O Overclocking and Modding 3 04-02-2007 09:11 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.