Question about my PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-14-2012, 02:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
Default Question about my PC

So... my setup is like this.
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-990XA-UD3, AMD 990X/SB950, DDR3, sound, SATA, G-LAN, PCI-E, CrossFireX, SLI, USB 3.0, FW, ATX, s. AM3 / AM3+
Graphic card PCI-E XFX AMD RADEON HD 6970, 2GB DDR5, HDMI, DualDVI, miniDP, HDTV
Processor AMD FX X4 4170 BOX, s. AM3+, 4.2GHz, 12MB cache, Quad Core
Memory PC-12800, 16 GB, MUSHKIN BlackLine FrostByte, 997055, DDR3 1600MHz, kit 2x8GB
SSD 120.0 GB MUSHKIN Chronos MKNSSDCR120GB, SATA3, 2.5'', MLC-Chip, max. to 550/515 MB/s

650 W and a LG VGA monitor (E2251) 1920x1080.

My question is... why can't I run Skyrim on Ultra Graphics without fps lag in towns and in some areas? I mean, when I go on -set default options- it automatically sets the graphics to ULTRA. I didn't even set them like that. And then it fps lags on the beginning for example, in towns... it can go bellow 30 fps. Which is really sad. Could anybody tell me why I might be fps lagging? Also, the monitor can't be sticked in correctly because I'm using a device to be able to hook up my VGA with my housing. And the 2 screws that are supposed to go in the back side of the housing aren't able to as they aren't long enough. Could that be the problem? My connector is kinda shaky then. And also, it's not just Skyrim. Assassin's Creed Revelations aswell. Could it be because I got Nivida PhySX installed?
__________________

firelikecool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 03:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: Question about my PC

If you have any kind of Nvidia software running while having an AMD card it can cause problems. Not quite sure what you are talking about with that connector issue.

Your specs should be fine for the tasks at hand. I say make sure you have no Nvidia software installed, have the latest and proper drivers for your hardware, and you don't have any extras forced in the CCC (like AA, ect).
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 05:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Yeah, but I need Nivida PhysX for another game since C9 only runs with that software. Also, what I mean by that is... the fact that I'm unable to plug in the connector completely. I'm only able to plug it in 50% just so that the screen works with my VGA monitor. Should have probably bought a HDMI.

Tried listening to your advice. But it kinda failed, I'm still FPS lagging for some odd reason. Do I need to install all of my motherboard bioses? Or is just @bios enough?
firelikecool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 10:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,776
Default Re: Question about my PC

Your motherboard can only have one BIOS, and you should always try to have the latest installed.
Just to make sure, you've tried reinstalling your GPU drivers? (you need to download the latest driver, uninstall the old driver, reboot, install new driver, reboot).

Is it only in Skyrim that you get this FPS issue? If so I'd check to see if anyone else with the same GPU and/or CPU have problems with Skyrim.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 10:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
Default Re: Question about my PC

No, I'm having trouble with a lot of games. Mostly because online games can't handle my ATI properly and drivers don't work for them most of the time. I think it has something to do with my graphic card not being able to send the proper amount of information to my screen because my screen isn't plugged in completely. Either that or something is wrong with my drivers. Should I completely wipe out my old GPU drivers info by going on safe mode and then deleting them from there?
firelikecool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 10:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,776
Default Re: Question about my PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by firelikecool View Post
No, I'm having trouble with a lot of games. Mostly because online games can't handle my ATI properly and drivers don't work for them most of the time. I think it has something to do with my graphic card not being able to send the proper amount of information to my screen because my screen isn't plugged in completely. Either that or something is wrong with my drivers. Should I completely wipe out my old GPU drivers info by going on safe mode and then deleting them from there?
If you can see everything on the screen fine then it's unlikely to be an issue. I still don't get why exactly you can't plug it in correctly?

If you want to be extra sure then sure, do it in Safe Mode.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 11:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
Default Re: Question about my PC

So basically. The thing I'm talking about looks like "http://www.permamentcom.com/images/c...vga-to-dvi.jpg" and it's connecting my VGA monitor to my DVI pannel in the housing. Only problem is that the screws on each side aren't long enough so they won't go in which makes it shaky. And by shaky I mean that if you pull it a bit harder, it could come out and the monitor would stop working untill I put it back in.
firelikecool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 12:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: Question about my PC

If it was just Skyrim you could try forcing Vsync off.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 01:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
Default Re: Question about my PC

Well it's not just Skyrim. Skyrim is going kinda 40-60 fps outside of the town, even thou it should go like... 60 all the time. But... there are a few more games that I'm fps lagging in that have A LOT lower requirements, for example Freejack Online. That's why I'm guessing that it's my monitor and not my pc or anything like that.
__________________

firelikecool is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Symbian S60v5 question video recorder question(Vivaz) marcoax Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 0 03-07-2011 05:52 PM
gentouch78 tablet question (warning noob question) tomc102968 Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 3 11-23-2010 01:13 PM
build question...e760 or e758?? also question about RAM eagle5968 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 02-28-2010 10:35 PM
Question on burning DVD's *Noob Question*. KCRMYZ Off Topic Discussion 3 12-31-2007 02:23 PM
Micro mobo question ans set-up question. Dark_Sniper* System Upgrades 0 11-16-2005 10:47 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.