Question about my Overclock - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2007, 02:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Poemaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 284
Default Question about my Overclock

I just overclocked my Q6600 to 360x9 My temps from CoreTemp are about 35 Idle is this good?
also CPU-Z alternates between showing my a 360x6 result and 360x9 what is going on Core temp consistently shows 360x9 I am confused
__________________

Poemaster is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 02:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dorset Uk
Posts: 347
Default Re: Question about my Overclock

35 is good i think you should stop ocing once it gets to 40 idle
__________________

rebell07 is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 02:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Poemaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 284
Default Re: Question about my Overclock

and why am I getting mixed results?
Poemaster is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 08:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 94
Default Re: Question about my Overclock

That is called speedstep. If your system is ideling, it knocks the multiplyer down to save power. When you start an app or a game it goes up to 9, don't worry. You can also disable it in BIOS if you want it to always be 9.
jakebrick is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 10:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Question about my Overclock

im at 3.2 right now

my idle is 35,35,28,33

what is your vcore set at?
mgcook is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 10:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Question about my Overclock

Thats about right, i knocked mine back up to 3.6ghz last night and running orthos i get 61C on cores 0 and 1 and around 51 on cores 2 and 3, im starting to think lapping is in order. At idle with 1.35v i'm at around 40C, but its only 70F in my apt.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 11:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Re: Question about my Overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Thats about right, i knocked mine back up to 3.6ghz last night and running orthos i get 61C on cores 0 and 1 and around 51 on cores 2 and 3, im starting to think lapping is in order. At idle with 1.35v i'm at around 40C, but its only 70F in my apt.
How much does lapping knock down your idle/load temps by. If its 2-3 degrees is it worth doin?
__________________
san21893 is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 11:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Question about my Overclock

It's worth doing if done correctly, and with patience. It takes a lot of hours to get it right. I've seen some drop by as much as 5 degrees, which is a pretty good drop.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 12:25 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Poemaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 284
Default Re: Question about my Overclock

I am at 1.320v I have yet to Orthos I will prolly do that tonight things have been running smooth though

as far as Lapping goes seems like way to scary a process for me, not something I will be trying anytime soon
Poemaster is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 12:37 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Question about my Overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Thats about right, i knocked mine back up to 3.6ghz last night and running orthos i get 61C on cores 0 and 1 and around 51 on cores 2 and 3, im starting to think lapping is in order. At idle with 1.35v i'm at around 40C, but its only 70F in my apt.
you do know the recommeded limit by intel is 71*C

i ran mine over that before.
__________________

mgcook is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 12:59 AM
Why I Overclock QuaziBee Overclocking and Modding 10 08-22-2007 11:15 PM
Change of plans.. I'm going Q6600 and possibly overclock Mechtech3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 18 08-08-2007 12:26 PM
Overclocking Question BlueHeaven New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-28-2007 06:54 AM
First TIme Overclock, PC not working now. HELP!!!! mvpo.geo Overclocking and Modding 10 04-13-2007 08:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.