Question about CPU / RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-23-2006, 02:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 226
Default Question about CPU / RAM

Whats the difference if I overclock my x2 4200 to 2.6 and memory running at 240mhz or Ocing it to 2.9 and memory running at same speed 240mhz?

Should my memory speed be faster at 2.9? Or is my OC fine?

What if I OC it to 3ghz and memory only running at 200-220mhz, would the memory be to slow or is it just fine?
__________________

Jayvon is offline  
Old 10-23-2006, 06:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

You'll see more performance improvement with higher CPU clocks, than higher memory clocks. However, if you can get a good CPU OC, while maintaining good clocks with the RAM - you'll have a very nice OC.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 10-23-2006, 06:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

sure memory overclocks help and you should always try and get the best possible memory overclock, for the best cpu overclock you can get.

as was said always favour cpu over memory. it will give you more performance. simple proof. why do higher clocked versions of the same processor perform far better than lower clocked versions with the same memory. because cpu clock is more important
Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-23-2006, 08:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 226
Default

Alright cool I get it.

Well I OC'ed my X2 4200 to 2.9Ghz - 1.45v - G.skill Dual 2gb Ram at 243Mhz each [3-3-3-5]! Took all night messing with the timings and everything but it seems to be stable.

As of right now im stress testing the CPU and Ram. Full load temps are at 52-54c. Will let you guys know the results later when I wake up, but what do you guys think about the OC & Temps on full load?

[Edit] Got it to 3ghz but was unstable in Orthos.
[Edit] Also whats the difference in performance or will I even notice with HT set at 2 or 4? Right now its set at 2.

Rig is in my sig.
__________________
AMD X2 4200 + Zalman 9500
Asus A8R32 MVP Deluxe Motherboard
eVga 7900Gt Ko + Vf700 @ 600/1620
SB X-Fi XtremeMusic + Klipsch PM 5.1
Thermaltake ToughPower 750w Modular
Seagate Barracude SataIII 250Gb
Samsung/Lite On Dvd/Cd RW
NEC 20WMGX 20\'1 WideScreen
Logitech G15
Logitech Mx518
ThermalTake Tsunami Case

http://s141.photobucket.com/albums/r58/lvlarvin/
Jayvon is offline  
Old 10-23-2006, 06:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 226
Default

Well it passed! Havent seen many X2's hit 2.9 or over. I wonder if I can hit 3ghz or more...

__________________
AMD X2 4200 + Zalman 9500
Asus A8R32 MVP Deluxe Motherboard
eVga 7900Gt Ko + Vf700 @ 600/1620
SB X-Fi XtremeMusic + Klipsch PM 5.1
Thermaltake ToughPower 750w Modular
Seagate Barracude SataIII 250Gb
Samsung/Lite On Dvd/Cd RW
NEC 20WMGX 20\'1 WideScreen
Logitech G15
Logitech Mx518
ThermalTake Tsunami Case

http://s141.photobucket.com/albums/r58/lvlarvin/
Jayvon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.