Question about case/psu... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2005, 12:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6
Default Question about case/psu...

I am wondering if anyone can tell me a good case/psu(adaquete cooling) too go with the following parts:

DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice Integrated into Chip FSB 512KB L2 Cache Socket 939 Processor
CORSAIR ValueSelect 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit System Memory
Maxtor Ultra Series Kits L01M080 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache Serial ATA150 Hard Drive
eVGA 128-P2-N368-TX Geforce 6600GT 128MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI-Express x16 Video Card
LITE-ON Beige 16X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 4X DVD+R DL 16X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 24X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2M Cache IDE DVD Burner
SONY MPF920-Z/CU1 Beige 1.44MB 3.5" Internal Floppy Drive
Encore ENF656-ESW-NDPR 56Kbps PCI Bus (Plug and Play) Modem

What about overclocking with the retail heatsink on my A64?
__________________

Azndude2190 is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 01:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 133
Default Re: Question about case/psu...

Quote:
Originally posted by Azndude2190
I am wondering if anyone can tell me a good case/psu(adaquete cooling) too go with the following parts:

DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice Integrated into Chip FSB 512KB L2 Cache Socket 939 Processor
CORSAIR ValueSelect 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit System Memory
eVGA 128-P2-N368-TX Geforce 6600GT 128MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI-Express x16 Video Card


What about overclocking with the retail heatsink on my A64?
holy **** same setup im buying

a 450 power supply (enermax, antec ect) will be good, buy a good name though

Any ATX Comp case will work, find one you like.. i here li lan are good..
__________________

tylerdrude is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 01:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Azndude2190
What about overclocking with the retail heatsink on my A64?
I'd have to say that is a bad idea. I would get something that is meant for heavy duty cooling. The Thermaltake Silentboost K8 is a great fan and heatsink for not a ton of money.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835106036

Also, make sure you get a good thermal gel like Arctic Silver 5.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 01:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6
Default Re: Re: Question about case/psu...

Quote:
Originally posted by tylerdrude
holy **** same setup im buying

a 450 power supply (enermax, antec ect) will be good, buy a good name though

Any ATX Comp case will work, find one you like.. i here li lan are good..
so a mid tower would work fine?
Azndude2190 is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 02:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6
Default

What about this atx full tower case:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811112508

And this for the psu?:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153007
Azndude2190 is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 02:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

1.) yes, that lian-li case is a very high quality case (you can find pre-modded lian-li cases that look very nice IMO @ www.frozencpu.com)
2.) you need a TWENTY FOUR pin psu, not a twenty pin psu

go for either:
a.) OCZ modstream 450W/520W if you plan on making a new computer during your next upgrade
b.) OCZ powersream 520W/600W if you plan on upgrading the video card and possibly the CPU as well during your next upgrade on the same computer (i.e. ATi R520 core gpu gfx card and dual core AMD)
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 07:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

20 to 24 pin adapters work and im going to prove it.

I am going to stick 120 volts thru an adaptor and power a power supply in a benchmark thru the adapter
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.