Question? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-08-2007, 12:55 AM   #11 (permalink)
WWS
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default

How loose should I set them, 3-3-3-7? Is there a general rule I should follow?
__________________

__________________
12 Gb GSkill DDR3 Tripple Channel
2 500 Gb SATA II HD
2 BluRay Burners
2 9800GTX+ in SLI
ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8 GHz
WWS is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 09:37 AM   #12 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

drop the ht multiplier to one number lower (i.e. if its at 5 put it to 4...or even 3). this may(and very likely will) help you get a little more out of it.
you probably wont go much higher with an x2. i hardly ever see them clocked above 2.8. if you break 3.0, i'd like to see it.
i can boot at 2.95, but not stable. i have an am2, so yours may overclock a little higher than mine.
does your rig run games with no lag?
if yes, who cares about 3dmark?
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 10:16 AM   #13 (permalink)
WWS
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default

I have the HT multiplier set at 4 right now with the FSB at 235. It should not be the bus causing the problem. When I first started to oc I dropped the memory and CPU settings way down to see how High I could go on just the FSB setting and It was still stable at 300. So it is either the CPU or the memory causing the problems. My mem is PC3500 so I am not sure if it is the problem since I have it set at 183. I could try and loosen up the timings a bit to see if it is the show stopper, but I am leaning more towards the CPU.

What do you think?

Yes I can run games with no Lag
__________________
12 Gb GSkill DDR3 Tripple Channel
2 500 Gb SATA II HD
2 BluRay Burners
2 9800GTX+ in SLI
ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8 GHz
WWS is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 10:48 AM   #14 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

your timings are not going to be as important as the speed.
if it is running at a speed slower than stock, the timings wont matter.
like i said, it is very rare to see an x2 overclocked much more than what you have.
maybe you could drop all your settings (like you had them when you got external clock speed of 300) and work your way up.
but if your ram is underclocked, changing timings is not going to do anything.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 11:33 AM   #15 (permalink)
WWS
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default

If 2.8GHz is all I can get then so be it, I guess that is a pretty good increase from the stock 2.4GHz.

However is it possible to get my memory to run at 235MHz using a 1:1 Ratio if I loosen up my timings? Does loosening the timings make the memory run slower at faster clock speeds without the loss of performance? I do not completely understand so an explanation on how it works would be great.
__________________
12 Gb GSkill DDR3 Tripple Channel
2 500 Gb SATA II HD
2 BluRay Burners
2 9800GTX+ in SLI
ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8 GHz
WWS is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 02:42 PM   #16 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

i dont think you will be able to run the ram at that speed.
from what little reading i did (and i did it quick), it seems that it will top out a little below 220mhz.
loosening thr timings will slow the ram, but raising the cpu clock speed will speed up your ram, get it?
so, it's a trade off. for the most part, unless you are using a really ram intensive application it is better to get highest cpu clock speed possible. then worry about getting your ram up to its highest stable speed. or you can balance the two off.
for example, i run my ddr2 800xms at 430 something mhz when i have my normal overclock (about 2.6ish).
when i go to 2.8+ i drop the speed to ddr2 667...so that my ram is not overclocked higher than i like. it will do 450+, but i just don't run it that high.
as far as an explanation of ram timings i understand them, but explaining them is very tedious. google it or search here on the forums.
good luck!
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 12:36 AM   #17 (permalink)
WWS
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default

So I changed the Memory setting back to 200 for a 1:1 ratio and I also changed the VDimm to 2.85V. At the stock settings of 2-3-2-6 I was having trouble with my computer crashing. I changed the mem settings to 3-3-3-7 and now I have no problems. Mem is running at 2.35MHz, CPU at 2.82GHz.
__________________
12 Gb GSkill DDR3 Tripple Channel
2 500 Gb SATA II HD
2 BluRay Burners
2 9800GTX+ in SLI
ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8 GHz
WWS is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 07:01 AM   #18 (permalink)
Hiphopapotamus.
 
b0dge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Location: Posts: 61,784
Posts: 557
Default

Try checking this out: http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=59883

I think it'll help.
__________________

__________________
Don't ask questions, just click my rep tick. Now.
b0dge is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.