Quake III Case - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-27-2005, 08:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 43
Send a message via AIM to lbreevesii
Default Quake III Case

I've decided to mod an old compaq case i've got layin around.

The case I've got to work with is similar to this one:


I intend to sortof draw a bit of inspiration from one of the best game themed modded cases ever, this HL2 case:
HL2 Case

Heres the basic ideas that i've got so far:

1. cutout quake III symbol on left side
2. back left side cutout with wire mesh or “broken” plexi
3. gunshot holes
4. crinkled metal due to shotgun blast- in question
5. raised cutout pieces painted deep red on right side
6. shotgun shell feet
7. internal lights for both main inside of case and for under the right case panel.
8. hl2 modeled breaks and burns in the bezel plastic
9. will be hand painted with silvers, grey, black, rusty color, and quake red.
10. shotgun shell brass feet.
11. exposed wiring, possibly behind bezel.
12. decorative rivets/rivet like heads.
13. possibly add "armor plate" sort of pieces.

anybody got some other cool ideas to incorporate?
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 3800+
ABIT AN8-SLI
X-connect 500W psu
1.5gb RAM
etc etc

Custom Quake box under planning and soon to be under construction
lbreevesii is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 10:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Good Luck.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 10:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Yeah, good luck.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 10:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 43
Send a message via AIM to lbreevesii
Default

luck? no luck involved. cutouts can be handled easily between dremmel, and possibly by a local guy who has laser cutting equipment. painting and such, just takes patience and skill.

reason for posting was for ideas. anybody got any?
__________________
AMD 64 3800+
ABIT AN8-SLI
X-connect 500W psu
1.5gb RAM
etc etc

Custom Quake box under planning and soon to be under construction
lbreevesii is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 12:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 378
Default

Be sure and post pics when you're done!
__________________
ilovesocks is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 02:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 43
Send a message via AIM to lbreevesii
Default

will do.
__________________
AMD 64 3800+
ABIT AN8-SLI
X-connect 500W psu
1.5gb RAM
etc etc

Custom Quake box under planning and soon to be under construction
lbreevesii is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 03:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 119
Default

it would be cool with the theme if you could incorporate like the cyborgish feel of quake into it.. like wires that dont connect to anything and random pieces of metal. Iono, I think of that when I think quake.
Rmaia is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 03:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 43
Send a message via AIM to lbreevesii
Default

i agree. mabye i can incorporate some extra plating and rivets into it. random wiring may also be doable, particuarly behind the damaged looking front bezel.

thanks.
__________________
AMD 64 3800+
ABIT AN8-SLI
X-connect 500W psu
1.5gb RAM
etc etc

Custom Quake box under planning and soon to be under construction
lbreevesii is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 03:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quake 3 sucks. I hope your case won't.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 04:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 43
Send a message via AIM to lbreevesii
Default

ohh be optimistic major.

and for gods sake quake dosent' suck...i bet you play UT and CS. Quake III is a classic. I could always jump the gun and go for a quake IV theme rather than quake III....wouldn't be a bad idea, just mainly be changing the symbols.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 3800+
ABIT AN8-SLI
X-connect 500W psu
1.5gb RAM
etc etc

Custom Quake box under planning and soon to be under construction
lbreevesii is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.