Quad Core overclocking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2008, 10:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 74
Default Quad Core overclocking

Hi, i'm recently thinking of overclocking my cpu.. so i've a few questions that i hope the experts here can help me...

Firstly, can i noe how to check whether my quad core Q6600 is G0 stepping w/o the box?

Secondly, i heard that Q6600 is a good overclocker, wat's the average if i'm only willingly to install a normal bigger cpu fan on it...

Lastly, overclocking reduce the cpu's lifespan, but by how much??

Thanks for the replies coming in advance..
__________________

tikitaha is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 10:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Quad Core overclocking

Dude, what is wrong with you? You got a Quad Core, why do you need to over clock? Most these guys over clock to meet Quad Core performance. Trust me don't do it.
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 10:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default Re: Quad Core overclocking

^Dude, no offence, but you don't have a clue as to what you're talking about.

Overclocking's easy.. download CPU-Z to check your stepping, and also, what kind of motherboard are you running on? Is this a pre-built computer? Because chances are overclocking might not be an option..
__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 01:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 306
Default Re: Quad Core overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by tikitaha View Post
Hi, i'm recently thinking of overclocking my cpu.. so i've a few questions that i hope the experts here can help me...

Firstly, can i noe how to check whether my quad core Q6600 is G0 stepping w/o the box?

Secondly, i heard that Q6600 is a good overclocker, wat's the average if i'm only willingly to install a normal bigger cpu fan on it...

Lastly, overclocking reduce the cpu's lifespan, but by how much??

Thanks for the replies coming in advance..
You can check th CPU if it says SLACR on the third line it is a G0. Otherwise check in CPU-Z it will tell you the revision if it is G0. I have seen around the 3.0Ghz on air is average. SOme have gone higher and some have decided to stay lower, from what I have seen. CPU's last 100 years and OC'ing them reduces the lifespan to 50 years. So basically OC'ing won't affect you unless you plan on keeping it that long.
__________________
Mobo: GA-p35-DS3r
CPU: Q6600 @ 2.4Ghz G0
Video: EVGA 8800 GTS 512MB (G92) 670/972 for the Acer 24" Monitor
P/S: Rosewill RP 550-2 Pro
Case: Antec 900
2X HD: SEAGATE 7200.2 320GB
Memory: G.SKILL 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800
Os: Windows Vista Premium 32BIT
Indobos is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 03:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Quad Core overclocking

The amount of usable lifespan on a CPU is far greater than it will ever need to run. Even if you cut the lifespan in half or less, it will still be outdated by the time you replace it with something faster. As to overclocking on stock cooling, thats a bit iffy. As said before, if you have a good chip, you can probably hit 3.0ghz on the stock cooler, but its going to run pretty hot.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 12:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Black Falcon 921's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cypress, Texas
Posts: 562
Default Re: Quad Core overclocking

Good board and good cooler should be able to hit 3.5 and above..... Over clocking is awesome and one the quads should be done if your up for it, just my opinion.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Black Falcon 921 is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 01:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 74
Default Re: Quad Core overclocking

Thanks guys for the replies... the stepping shown is B, but the revision is G0, so does it means it's G0 stepping??

I'm using a gigabyte P35-DS3 board, is it suitable for overclocking? i'm not going for the extreme, i may try to hit 3ghz or slightly more than that.. wat would i need then?
tikitaha is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 01:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Quad Core overclocking

which ds3? I was able to get my q6600 up to 3.15 on stock voltage with my ds3r.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 01:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: Quad Core overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
which ds3? I was able to get my q6600 up to 3.15 on stock voltage with my ds3r.
sorry going to high jack the post a second

i've got a GA-P35-DS3R, i'm going to overclock it seen i ca do it on stock volts but 1 thing what HSF did you use

or is it ok on stock HSF
__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 02:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Quad Core overclocking

On stock air i think i was able to get around 2.9 before temps became an issue.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quad Core Vs Extreme Quad Core? Sneblot New Systems | Building and Buying 14 01-16-2008 02:43 AM
How do I compare CPUs? Dual Core, Core 2 Duo, Quad Core... 706 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 12-05-2007 08:27 AM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.