Q9300 vs. Q6600 - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2008, 04:35 PM   #21 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default Re: q9300 vs q6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
No, Q9300 outperformed it in all cases



Even though Q9300 have less cache, it performs better because of the architectural improvements introduced in Penryn processors, and having 100MHz higher clock speed
I was referring to this part of the review: X-bit labs - The Youngest of Yorkfields: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 Processor Review (page 9)

they tried it with different clock speeds

You can tell that those differences are margins of error, I mean, how the heck can a QX9770 perform worse than a Q9300... it just shows that there won't be much of a difference in gaming or gaming benchmarks

the difference in 3DMark06 for example, is less than 100, which is the margin of error...

when you can get a Q6600 or Q6700 for so much cheaper, unless you do encoding and the likes, what's the point? I'm still really pessimistic about the disappointing prices and multipliers of these new quads...
__________________

__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 04:55 PM   #22 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: q9300 vs q6600

I would say this for those choosing between the two.

Average together the advantage percents, then find the price difference in percent to see which one is the better buy for the money.

If the percent price of the Q9300 is greater than the average percent advantage, then buy the Q6600. If the percent price is less than the average percent advantage, then buy the Q9300.

Example.
Comparing the prices will depend on where your going to buy either processor from and whether OEM or retail So lets say Ill buy it at clubit, this does not include shipping. Now unfortunately clubit does not have the Q9300 yet, so I will use the price from costcentral on google.
Q6600 OEM: $239.99 (Clubit)
Q9300 OEM: $289.99 (CostCentral on google)

Ok so the average percent advantage the Q9300 has over the Q6600, from the chart posted above is about 6.66% .. So now the Q9300, using the above prices, costs about 20.8% more than the Q6600, So the cost percent is more than the percent advantage, so at least using these prices and the chart above the Q6600 is the better buy..

You could use this math to figure out a purchase for any product.

Of course there are still many factors we have not considered, including but not limited to power consumption, oveclocking ability and motherboard/software support.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 05:11 PM   #23 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: q9300 vs q6600

q6600/q6700 will oc much much farther then a q9300 tho with such a low multi of 7 it will be lucky to go to 3 ghz.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 05:25 PM   #24 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: q9300 vs q6600

You only need a mobo that can get to 450 fsb to get it to 3375. That is not that hard. Specially if you have a maximus formula or any x38 board. And I bet the p35's can do just as well.
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 05:36 PM   #25 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: q9300 vs q6600

ya but a 3.3 ghz q9300 vs a 4ghz q6600, wodner what will do better lol, highest i can run stable is 3.8 but i dont like my temps, i got it to run folding for an hour yesterday at 3.8 but it was at like 75c load and 50 idle i need to lapp before i go to 3.8 or any higher, il sit at 3.7 for now still probably smokes a q9300 pushed to its limits at 3.3
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 05:39 PM   #26 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: q9300 vs q6600

vs a 4ghz q6600? Who runs that on air stable 24/7? I mean, 3.6 is more realistic goal. 3.7/3.75ish if you get a good chip.

and a q9300 would not be pushed to the limits at 3.3. that is only 450 fsb! I can run over 500 fsb easy (i just cant get my RAM to keep up, can you tell me what the unlink bios setting is?) So 3.3 is not the limit. 3.5 would not be that hard with a TRUE.

and I know its a quad not a dual, but 3562 is 475 fsb, and that is not that* hard with a decent cooler, and will deff smoke a 3.6 q6600
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 05:49 PM   #27 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: q9300 vs q6600

This may all be well and good, but ive had my q6600 for over 6 months now, and the minimal performance increase for the amount of time/effort/money required to buy the new chip, sell the old chip wouldnt be worth it. It comes back to the fact that, it all depends on what you currently have compared to what you are looking to buy.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 05:50 PM   #28 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: q9300 vs q6600

well i got a descent chip i can get 3.8 i just need to lap, and for me i dont have an unlinking i just can bring my ram up or down rigth now at 3.73 and a fsb of 415, i can take my ram down to 600mhz, maybe u have a diferent bios revision then i do because i know they sometimes do take away/add new features depending on the bios version.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 06:23 PM   #29 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: q9300 vs q6600

Noone caught my logic error... Fixed now.
Ste is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 06:34 PM   #30 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: q9300 vs q6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
Noone caught my logic error... Fixed now.
i actually did lol i just didnt mention it i knew ud fix it, and i dotn like crakign down on peoples mistakes considerign i make so many with my grammar.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
Q6600: G0 Stepping vs B3 Stepping 96z28 New Systems | Building and Buying 17 02-26-2008 12:45 PM
q6600 for gaming and OC Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 37 06-19-2007 10:12 PM
Overclocking a q6600 Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-04-2007 02:42 AM
Cheapest Q6600 Build Gumbercules New Systems | Building and Buying 34 06-01-2007 01:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.