Q9300 vs. Q6600 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-14-2008, 04:26 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: q9300 vs q6600

It really amazes me how much i have spent since i got into building computers. I went probably 5 years with my machine barely being able to play the most recent games, and now i'm somehow stuck in this bleeding edge loop. Gotta stop. Going to start putting money towards modding the car instead since the warranty is almost up.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 03-14-2008, 04:32 PM   #12 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: q9300 vs q6600

oh crap.. I thought for sure it was 8.5x. gosh.. ehh.

But, Think about how much the GTS 512 dropped in price, I paid 360 for mine...

So if the q9450 drops in price, it will be killer. If the q9300 is any indication.
__________________

__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 03-14-2008, 04:43 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: q9300 vs q6600

Ya, i paid 360 EACH for 2 GTS cards in the hopes of using that 360 per card towards stepup. But then nvidia decided to screw me.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 03-14-2008, 04:48 PM   #14 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default Re: q9300 vs q6600

Well, I don't know... a Q6700 at $280 official pricing after April 20th seems entirely more appealing.. particularly with a 10x multiplier :freak:
__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 03-15-2008, 12:10 AM   #15 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: q9300 vs q6600

yeah that does seem nice. but still, little hot. Oh well, time will tell
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 06:58 AM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: q9300 vs q6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by Merkwürdigliebe View Post
if you look through the gaming section, there's no difference at all... in fact the Q6600 beats it in some place...
No, Q9300 outperformed it in all cases



Even though Q9300 have less cache, it performs better because of the architectural improvements introduced in Penryn processors, and having 100MHz higher clock speed
maroon1 is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 07:02 AM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: q9300 vs q6600

yeah I would take the Q9300 over the Q6600 any day (as long as I had a mobo capable of 450+fsb with a quad )
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 07:36 AM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: q9300 vs q6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
No, Q9300 outperformed it in all cases



Even though Q9300 have less cache, it performs better because of the architectural improvements introduced in Penryn processors, and having 100MHz higher clock speed
good luck hitting a good clock speed with that low 7.5x Multiplier though, it'd get outperformed by a q6700 oc'ed to its max and that Yorkfield overclocked to its max
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 08:12 AM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: q9300 vs q6600

Well, most motherboards do 460fsb...so that would be 3.45ghz which is roughly equivalent to a Q6600 @ 3.8ghz.

Getting a Q6600 to 3.8ghz is no easy task for a 24/7 clock on air. And then of course there's the crazy SSE4 performance of the 45nm Quads as well....
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 11:54 AM   #20 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: q9300 vs q6600

IF you have the option to buy a 9300 vs a q6600 NOW, the 9300 is probably the better buy. BUT, if you have a q6600 right now, i cant se eany reason to replace it with a 9300, unless you use programs that use SSE4.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
Q6600: G0 Stepping vs B3 Stepping 96z28 New Systems | Building and Buying 17 02-26-2008 12:45 PM
q6600 for gaming and OC Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 37 06-19-2007 10:12 PM
Overclocking a q6600 Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-04-2007 02:42 AM
Cheapest Q6600 Build Gumbercules New Systems | Building and Buying 34 06-01-2007 01:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.