Q6700 Maxes out at 3.2Ghz - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2008, 10:47 AM   #41 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Q6700 Maxes out at 3.2Ghz

I went quad SLI because the option to stepup was there. And most likely i'll end up sellng the GX2's for less of a loss than i would have taken by selling my GTS512's. Paid 360 each for them, and i would have been lucky to sell them for 240ish.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 04-10-2008, 12:34 PM   #42 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: Q6700 Maxes out at 3.2Ghz

well thats fair enough then

gosh i wish i had some GX2s....
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Old 04-10-2008, 12:44 PM   #43 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Q6700 Maxes out at 3.2Ghz

Well one thing is for sure. At least 1200 dollars worth of video cards will get used. Lets compare some of my other high dollar purchases
400$ paintball gun...used once
1200$ mountain bike...got used alot until college
1500$ road bike...less than 100 miles on it

Ya, so at least computer components get used daily
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 04-10-2008, 01:35 PM   #44 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: Q6700 Maxes out at 3.2Ghz

how does one spend $1200 on a mountain bike?!?!?

they never get past £500 for the best of the best here!
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Old 04-10-2008, 02:00 PM   #45 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Q6700 Maxes out at 3.2Ghz

It was one of the first full suspension crosscountry/mountain bikes. I bought it back in 95, back before EVERYONE made full suspension bikes.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 04-10-2008, 06:17 PM   #46 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default Re: Q6700 Maxes out at 3.2Ghz

[QUOTE=Drizzt5;1358349]As said. The quads simply own.

I just love to pull this example out though. Take a look at a p4 @ 4ghz... it gets whooped by almost any dual core out there.

So why should a e8400 @ 4ghz come close to beating a q6600 or a q6700 or any quad core for that matter @ 3ghz or above?

I really do not know, cause I'm ignorant (not implying anything), but i thought being 45nm just meant that the processor stayed cooler because the die was smaller, thus meaning that it could be clocked higher...?

I guess you already did it, but really, why would you bother going out and getting that e8400 when you have the q6700 g0 which is supposed to be such a great processor?
really do not know, cause I'm ignorant (not implying anything), but i thought being 45nm just meant that the processor stayed cooler because the die was smaller, thus meaning that it could be clocked higher...?

I guess you already did it, but really, why would you bother going out and getting that e8400 when you have the q6700 g0 which is supposed to be such a great processor?

I have a friend who builds chips (cpu's) for a living, The 45 nm shortens the distance to the flip flop resisters and then increases the instruction speed and bandwidth. I love my Q6700 but this new chip is really fast for desktop and othter processing (really fast) but I don't think it's much of an improvement for gamers.
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Q6600 vs Q6700 StealthTools New Systems | Building and Buying 22 03-20-2008 04:29 PM
q6700 + ddr3 deal Peter.Cort Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 03-19-2008 10:10 PM
Q6700 vs Phenom 9500 3DMark06 RicoDirenzo New Systems | Building and Buying 31 02-03-2008 02:10 AM
Temps for Q6700 vs. QX6850 TheMaestro New Systems | Building and Buying 29 11-05-2007 10:33 AM
AMD's Opteron hits 3.2GHz veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 08-07-2007 12:40 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.