Q6700 Maxes out at 3.2Ghz - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2008, 11:05 AM   #21 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Q6700 Maxes out at 3.2Ghz

I would think your score would be higher with the q6700 then with the e8400
__________________

__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 04-08-2008, 02:19 PM   #22 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Cool Re: Q6700 Maxes out at 3.2Ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drizzt5 View Post
I would think your score would be higher with the q6700 then with the e8400
Why would that be? The 4 cores do nothing extra for the bench (as far as I kn0w) and I can easily run the E8400 @ 4 ghz boosting the overall scores unless I'm ignant about quad vs dual cores in Futuremark. Additionally, the E8400 in a 45 nano meter pipeline and runs at 1333 mhz FSB stock. Enlighten me!
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 04-08-2008, 02:23 PM   #23 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Q6700 Maxes out at 3.2Ghz

in 3dmark Quad>dual in pretty much every respect
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 04-08-2008, 02:28 PM   #24 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Question Re: Q6700 Maxes out at 3.2Ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
in 3dmark Quad>dual in pretty much every respect
How so? I am really interested in how that is as I jsut spent another $250 bucks on the E8400. (I love my Q6700, bTW).
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 04-08-2008, 03:26 PM   #25 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Q6700 Maxes out at 3.2Ghz

3dmark06 scores much better on a quadcore than a dual core. I'll have to look at what bios my board has, but i have had 0 issues overclocking.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 04-08-2008, 04:02 PM   #26 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Q6700 Maxes out at 3.2Ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by RicoDirenzo View Post
How so? I am really interested in how that is as I jsut spent another $250 bucks on the E8400. (I love my Q6700, bTW).
Just take a look at the 3dmark06 scores thread. Without a quad there's no way I would have come close to 15,433 with my single 3850pro

In 3dmark06 your CPU score has a gigantic impact on the overall score....and quads absolutely destroy dual cores in the cpu test.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 04-08-2008, 06:38 PM   #27 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Q6700 Maxes out at 3.2Ghz

yes, 3dmark is one of those few programs that uses all those cores :-D
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 04-08-2008, 07:09 PM   #28 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Red face Re: Q6700 Maxes out at 3.2Ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by nOcLuE98 View Post
yes, 3dmark is one of those few programs that uses all those cores :-D
Thanks! Now I'm bummed though, although I think having the E8400 will be worth the investment.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 04-08-2008, 07:53 PM   #29 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Q6700 Maxes out at 3.2Ghz

possibly. I am thinking of selling mine for a q6700 when they drop to 266 at the end of april..
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 04-08-2008, 11:39 PM   #30 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Q6700 Maxes out at 3.2Ghz

I'm waiting for the 9550 or 9650 to become affordable. but i doubt it will happen before nehalem shows up.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Q6600 vs Q6700 StealthTools New Systems | Building and Buying 22 03-20-2008 04:29 PM
q6700 + ddr3 deal Peter.Cort Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 03-19-2008 10:10 PM
Q6700 vs Phenom 9500 3DMark06 RicoDirenzo New Systems | Building and Buying 31 02-03-2008 02:10 AM
Temps for Q6700 vs. QX6850 TheMaestro New Systems | Building and Buying 29 11-05-2007 10:33 AM
AMD's Opteron hits 3.2GHz veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 08-07-2007 12:40 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.