Q6600 on stock cooling: how far can I push it? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-17-2007, 01:08 PM   #21 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Q6600 on stock cooling: how far can I push it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheOtis View Post
35idle is MORE then safe for quads.

Those quads push out alot of heat, especially the B3's. I wouldn't recommend overclocking with a stock heatsink, especially with a quad core.

Don't go past 65 under load. And if you do hit 65 under load, that better be after a good 45 minutes to an hour of running a stress test.

But remember, you're not very likely to have all 4 cores under 100% load for a long period at time, let alone at once. So if you hit a bit above 65 after stress testing for awhile, don't worry about it. Just keep it under 65 to play it safe.
well he still hasnt figured what his idle or load temps are...
he needs to check it from his bios first and then compare with the softwares...
all the softwares i've used so far are off by about 8-12 degrees.

its different for everyone.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 01:24 PM   #22 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Q6600 on stock cooling: how far can I push it?

I could have sworn the tjunction of 100 was what a quad is supposed to have. Thats what my coretemp shows.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 01:27 PM   #23 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Q6600 on stock cooling: how far can I push it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
I could have sworn the tjunction of 100 was what a quad is supposed to have. Thats what my coretemp shows.
it could be...and i could be wrong.
I do have an e6550 so from what i know my tjunction is suppose to be 85*.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 01:30 PM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: Q6600 on stock cooling: how far can I push it?

I looked i up on wikipedia, veedubfreak was right it is supposed to be 100. When I get home I'll download the version of CoreTemp that you recommended, krazyq, and check it with the bios's temp readings.
__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 01:38 PM   #25 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Q6600 on stock cooling: how far can I push it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blitersety View Post
I looked i up on wikipedia, veedubfreak was right it is supposed to be 100. When I get home I'll download the version of CoreTemp that you recommended, krazyq, and check it with the bios's temp readings.
alright...sorry about that.
But yeah, post back bios temps and core temps reading when you get back.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 02:03 PM   #26 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Q6600 on stock cooling: how far can I push it?

Dual cores are 85 and quads are 100. Stop trying to make me think im going crazy.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 02:06 PM   #27 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Q6600 on stock cooling: how far can I push it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Dual cores are 85 and quads are 100. Stop trying to make me think im going crazy.
sorry man..my mistake.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 03:06 PM   #28 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: Q6600 on stock cooling: how far can I push it?

Ok I've redownloaded CoreTemp and it's showing temps from 46-52* C across the cores and the computer's idle right now. I'm going to restart and check the bios, I'll edit in the bios temps once I've got them. (CPU's at 2.7 GHz btw [300 MHz bus])

Alright, bios temps are showing 39*C and the EasyTune program is showing similar readings. Should I just use EasyTune to monitor my CPU from now on?
__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 04:41 PM   #29 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Q6600 on stock cooling: how far can I push it?

To monitor your CPU under load, use CoreTemp. To montior cold and warm boot idle temps, check your BIOS.

Tjunction is 100 on quad cores.

Don't go above 65 for long at all on your quad, with B3 or G0 stepping.

Simple as that.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 05:05 PM   #30 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Q6600 on stock cooling: how far can I push it?

Idling at anything above 40C isnt really going to be good for your machine, because its going to mean load temps above 60C. TBH, you dont really need to overclock right now as a stock q6600 is going to be more than enough for 99% of tasks. Just leave it at stock speeds until you can afford to upgrade the cooling then push the crap out of it.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Air Cooling Guide SirCyber Overclocking and Modding 5 01-03-2008 12:58 PM
E6750 and stock cooling? Raphael Argus Overclocking and Modding 3 10-15-2007 08:37 PM
Stock x1950pro HSF or Stock x1900xt HSF? ulater6000 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 09-24-2007 11:12 PM
OCing Q6600 with stock heatsink? dave39 Overclocking and Modding 11 09-10-2007 09:10 PM
newegg = Q6600 out of stock! mgcook New Systems | Building and Buying 33 07-23-2007 02:19 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.