Q6600 overclocking - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2008, 07:26 PM   #11 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Q6600 overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by BonKerz View Post
so what I would do is play with voltages *not exceeding 1.5 of course and clock speeds and find what is stable with that program with running the stress tests?
that is correct. Also keep an eye on your ram. Don't want to oc too far unless you feel like tweaking some more. Have you read any guides yet?
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 06-24-2008, 11:25 PM   #12 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Q6600 overclocking

talk to AMD GT PLAYER he uses that Tuniq and a Q6600. How do you have it mounted? Vertical or Horizontal? Try reseating it.
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 02:16 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default Re: Q6600 overclocking

I have is horizontal blowing air up into my 2 exhaust fans on top of my case.
__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 10:52 AM   #14 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Q6600 overclocking

you could try lapping
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 11:33 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default Re: Q6600 overclocking

yeah, i think I'm going to lap this weekend.
Also, are there any set variables that I should be using with the FSB? or can I just put it to whatever. Right now I'm at 360x9
__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 12:15 PM   #16 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Q6600 overclocking

I'm only 3.Ghz with the turniq right down, 1250rpm and at 34-39C. @26 room temp.

Whats your VCore at... Dropping them drops temp big time
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 01:18 PM   #17 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Q6600 overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Didn't you say that? Because you said that it'd catch the errors quicker in a 2 hour run than a full 8 hour run of Prime95
mmm, i dont know. i dont think i said to use it in place of prime95...probably what i meant was running superpi at one of the higher settings will detect errors pretty quick.
like if your overclock is unstable, 32m will catch it in less than 30 minutes usually, prime95 may take 2 or 3 hours to catch it.
what i do is this:
run every superpi 1m-32m
then
orthos or p95 4-6+ hours (or overnight).

most errors with the stability tests will occur within the first couple hours...sometimes they can occur in the 4-5 hour range, but i haven't had that happen very often at all.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
Help required: Overclocking a Intel Q6600 (g0) trip121 Overclocking and Modding 9 01-09-2008 12:56 PM
Overclocking Newbie help /w q6600 enthusiast1917 Overclocking and Modding 5 12-28-2007 02:40 PM
Overclocking a q6600 Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-04-2007 02:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.