Q6600 overclocking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2008, 04:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default Q6600 overclocking

It's in the mail, and on its way to me. I'm planning on over clocking, and I want to make sure that I have everything right. I'm aware of the programs CPU-Z and GPU-Z, but what should I use to stress and tweak the Q6600 so I can get it running stable? I'd be happy running at 3.4Ghz, but I was wondering, is 3.6Ghz about the max stable speed for a Q6600?
__________________

__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Old 06-23-2008, 04:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Q6600 overclocking

Do you have a cooler? OC'n is hot hot hot.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-23-2008, 04:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default Re: Q6600 overclocking

Yeah, I got a Tuniq 120
__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Old 06-23-2008, 04:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Q6600 overclocking

3.6 is usually what everyone runs it 24/7
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 06-23-2008, 07:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default Re: Q6600 overclocking

oh okay. I'll shoot for that. I'm sure I should be able to hit it easily. I have 4 120mm outtake fans around my CPU cooler, plus the cooler itself.
__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Old 06-23-2008, 09:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Eric1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 388
Default Re: Q6600 overclocking

You could use Prime95 (32bit) - 25.6 Download - EXTREME Overclocking to stress the CPU. Also make sure you use core temp or another program to monitor those temps. They also have the 64 bit version for vista on that site I gave you.
__________________
"How May I Misdirect Your Posts Today"
My Rig: A.K.A. My Little China Girl
Intel quad core q6600 2.4 Ghz
8GB G.Skill PC26400 DDR2 800Mhz
EVGA 8800GT 512
Raidmax Smilodon case
Thermaltake 700Watt Power
Gigabyte 965P-DS3 S-Series
Western Digital 500GB SATA
Audiology 2 ZS Creative sound card
ViewSonic 22" Widescreen display
Windows XP 64



Eric1 is offline  
Old 06-24-2008, 12:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Q6600 overclocking

Forget Prime95, if you do a SuperPI run at 8M for two hours, its equivalent to a 8 hour stress test of Prime95
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-24-2008, 02:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default Re: Q6600 overclocking

so what I would do is play with voltages *not exceeding 1.5 of course and clock speeds and find what is stable with that program with running the stress tests?
__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Old 06-24-2008, 12:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Q6600 overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Forget Prime95, if you do a SuperPI run at 8M for two hours, its equivalent to a 8 hour stress test of Prime95
haven't heard that one before....
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-24-2008, 01:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Q6600 overclocking

Didn't you say that? Because you said that it'd catch the errors quicker in a 2 hour run than a full 8 hour run of Prime95
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
Help required: Overclocking a Intel Q6600 (g0) trip121 Overclocking and Modding 9 01-09-2008 12:56 PM
Overclocking Newbie help /w q6600 enthusiast1917 Overclocking and Modding 5 12-28-2007 02:40 PM
Overclocking a q6600 Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-04-2007 02:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.