Q6600 Overclock has become unstable over time - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-03-2008, 10:22 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Q6600 Overclock has become unstable over time

thats the great thing about the q6600. You can run it at 3.6ghz without having to overclock the memory. I run my reapers at 2.2v 4-4-4-12 800mhz. The reapers might look gimicky, but they have been rock solid at 2.2v for over 6 months and are only midly warm to the touch. It also helps that i have 3 120mm fans blowing down onto the motherboard. Somewhat of a must having passive sinks on the ram/mosfets of the video cards and the giant air sink on the rampage. I ran my tracers at 4-3-3-8 800 for the longest time at 2.2v and never had any issues with them though.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 09:32 AM   #12 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Q6600 Overclock has become unstable over time

must be a very good chip if you can do 3.4 on 1.28. Save yourself sometime and run 10 test of this
IntelBurnTest v1.6 download from Guru3D.com
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 01:13 PM   #13 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Q6600 Overclock has become unstable over time

wow i just tried that and i love it 5 passes takes around 10 minuts, and my compy is 100% table woot, load temps never passed 68c
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 01:55 PM   #14 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Q6600 Overclock has become unstable over time

really? wow. my 9450 gets up around 80*C.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 03:28 PM   #15 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Q6600 Overclock has become unstable over time

yea, its a scary test. I hit 80c on my 65nm on 1.300v
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 05:43 PM   #16 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Q6600 Overclock has become unstable over time

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
really? wow. my 9450 gets up around 80*C.
you are at 3.75ghz alltho your on a 45nm, reran it 5 runs only got to 74c at the highest.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 05:52 PM   #17 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Q6600 Overclock has become unstable over time

10 runs = 12 hours prime atleast
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 07:01 PM   #18 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Q6600 Overclock has become unstable over time

just changed a case fan behind teh tuniq tower to exaust my temps droped 10c, and on my 5ft run i cant get past 71c voltage in sig.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 07:31 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default Re: Q6600 Overclock has become unstable over time

That test keeps telling me I don't have enough memory when I run it. If I specify the amount to be less than 2048mb it works fine, anything over that and it won't even try to run.
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 07:34 PM   #20 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Q6600 Overclock has become unstable over time

are you running a 32bit os maybe? either way you should up your voltage byt atleast 0.1
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hey all. Long time no post haha. New Rig time! Need input. TheOtis New Systems | Building and Buying 27 03-18-2008 04:06 PM
System unstable in 3d games/benchmarks ForMatt Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 03-16-2008 01:10 AM
First TIme Overclock, PC not working now. HELP!!!! mvpo.geo Overclocking and Modding 10 04-13-2007 08:29 PM
Unique World's First Shipping Time Based Comparison Shopping pdqdeals Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-09-2007 04:33 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.