Q6600 OC'ing HELP!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-17-2007, 03:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
[$m] Steele Muffins
<[MaTT]>'s Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 466
Exclamation Q6600 OC'ing HELP!!!

Very very soon i will have my Q6600 and Thermaltake Blue Orb FX Cooler. I dont really know much about whats safe and what im capable of, so i was wondering what you guys recommend, i was thinks something like 3.3ghz?

I really need some help and i know heaps of people have Q6600's so im hoping for lots of advice.

<[MaTT]> is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 03:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
gurusan's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Q6600 OC'ing HELP!!!

Well, you'll probably need to upgrade the cooler...if it's a g0 processor you might be able to do 3-3.2ghz on that cooler...but it's a really old design.

|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 05:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
[$m] Steele Muffins
<[MaTT]>'s Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 466
Default Re: Q6600 OC'ing HELP!!!

So 3.3 would be ok?
<[MaTT]> is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 06:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Q6600 OC'ing HELP!!!

you never know what you can get in advance. the average G0 q6600 seems capable of anywhere between 3.0-3.6GHz on air though.
Visit my website - nitestick.net
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 08:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
mgcook's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Q6600 OC'ing HELP!!!

3.0 is no big deal..you can prob do it on stock voltages

anything over 3.4 and you're gonna run into temp issues and possibly FSB holes
mgcook is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with ocing q6600 csaefong Overclocking and Modding 7 12-08-2007 12:29 AM
OCing Q6600 <[MaTT]> Overclocking and Modding 3 11-27-2007 11:25 PM
Help me choose a decent oc'ing mobo for a q6600 R1C0CH3T New Systems | Building and Buying 9 11-04-2007 01:31 PM
OCing Q6600 with stock heatsink? dave39 Overclocking and Modding 11 09-10-2007 08:10 PM
q6600 for gaming and OC Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 37 06-19-2007 09:12 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.